Scalloped Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
These potatoes were pretty good. Will add more spices to fit my taste. Family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Palka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Great recipe. I read about 50 reviews before I made it. I did a few things different. I grated 1 onion into the layers and I added 5 more tablespoons butter, plus I salt and peppered the layers very well with fresh ground pepper and sea salt. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Excellent, very simple, traditional recipe- just like my grandmother used to make. Next time I would add some garlic just because I love garlic. I also followed the suggestion of another reviewer and left the temperature at 425°. I will definitely make this again, but next time cut the recipe in half. I think this was more like 12 servings, not 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I made this recipe close to as is. Added a touch more spice and almond milk instead of regular milk. My son cannot have any type of dairy. I wanted to stay away from the Grotin type recipe, which is similar but with cheese. This recipe is ment for the cheeseless eaters. I liked it good enough, but this time it was not my absolute favorite. I will use Yukon Golds next time. I used idaho spuds this time. I cannot use regular butter so we have one that has olive oil, coconut, etc. It is a great substitute. We buy it at Whole Foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This is the exact recipe made by my mom and her mom before her, and me! The only difference is that we cut Spam into pieces about 1" by 1/2" and layer 1/3 of a large can (or more, if you really like Spam)on top of each layer of potatoes. You could use ham if you don't like Spam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
One of the best potato recipes I have ever used!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
i used a mix of white and sweet potatoes and half and half cream instead of milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This is the way I have made scalloped potatoes for years and my mother before me. I don't measure, but I am sure I use more butter than this recipe does. I add crushed soda crackers on top and add milk slowly on the side of the casserole dish until I can see the milk. I then press down on on the crackers withy hands to make sure they get wet with the milk. If not add a little more milk. This gives a nice golden color and is crusty when done cooking. Make sure you use a deep enough dish, leaving about an inch empty on top of the potatoes and milk. Yes, it is a good idea to put this on a cookie sheet, just to be sure you don't have a mess. I always cook this at 350 degrees for about an hour. You can check for doneness with a sharp knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Yes! Tastes just like mom's!!! I am so thrilled to have found this recipe. There's only three of us so I use an 8"x 8" dish. I peel about 6 medium russet potatoes and then thinly slice them. I boil them for 5 mins in the meantime make a roux and then add the milk. I use a generous T of both garlic and onion powder and a generous amount of black pepper and sea salt. Bake at 375 for half hour and they are bubbling and browned on top. Absolutely delicious and perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
These are the scalloped potatoes I grew up on!! I never knew it was a recipe. I always thought my mom just assembled to taste and baked. (God rest her soul) This recipe is a find! No onions, no unusual spices, just simple potato flavor. As another writer suggested, I add pepper and once in a rare while I may sprinkle with some mild cheddar shreds before serving. I have been making these for years always getting compliments. This recipe is beautiful as is in form and function-- down home flavor and goodness!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States