Scalloped Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
this recipe is just like what mom made when I was growing up. mom grew up all around the amish with german grand parents. its just like the amish dish I grew up with. yes it can be considered bland but the amish rarely use much seasoning beside salt pepper and sugar! unless you consider bacon grease a seasoning.lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rg G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Good starter recipe. Add sour cream, Onion soup mix, cream of asparagus or cream of broccoli soup, black pepper, and top with monterey jack cheese to make it pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dean Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Made this tonight, and thought it was really, really good! As per other reviews, I made the butter and flour into a roux, then added the milk and cooked it just until it started to get thick. (I used unsalted butter, and added a sprinkle of Mrs. Dash to the sauce since my mother is on a low-sodium diet.) Topped it with cubes of lower-sodium ham and flakes of Parmesan cheese and baked as directed. The creamy, rich flavor really surprised me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I made this exactly as directed except i added diced ham and green onions and threw it in the crockpot and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is a good basic recipe. Would be a 5 star if more seasoning added
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Excellent recipe if you're looking for a traditional recipe for scalloped potatoes. Super creamy! I even added a little less milk and quite a few onions. Delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Hi - This is exactly like my mother's recipe - I made it and used a mandolin to get the potato slices very thin and uniform - also my mother always added breakfast sausages (maple flavor) 12 oz package, you cut each sausage into 3 pieces and add them to each layer - if you have some shredded cheddar cheese hanging out in your freezer this is a great addition in the layers and on top. this makes a great side or whole comfort meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Perfect potatoes! Thanks for the prior reviews - I made a roux and that worked out great. I used yukon golds thinly sliced. Definitely will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
So, so easy to make and delicious. I added onions and used Lactose free milk. I did have to cook the dish at 425 degrees for 15 minutes, not 5 minutes, before turning the oven down to 375 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I have never made scalloped potatos but this turned out more like potato soup! It had good flavor but wayyyy to soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Mom's Scalloped Potatoes

Perfectly creamy scalloped potatoes, just like Mom would make.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States