Scalloped Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Just like my mom used to make! I can eat a whole pan of these! To the person who thought these didn't have enough taste, you can tell from the recipe that they're going to be pretty bland overall, so don't use the recipe and then complain about it. Look for something with more spices. As for me, this is my favorite dish. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I have been making this simple recipe for more years then I want to admit. It's a SIMPLE recipe you can add to if you want. You don't need to make a roux for this. Why is it that everyone needs to make all these changes and then rate it. If you don't like what you read look further I am sure there are other recipes on this site that will meet your needs. I find this with soo many recipes on this site and you are being unfair to the person who submitted it. Have you tried it as written?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Ugh...I should have made the roux separately then poured it over the potatos to bake. Ugly, lumpy flour everywhere...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
One of my favorite comfort foods, and this recipe is super good. I use plenty of salt and halved the butter. I also topped with cheddar cheese. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NVGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Just like my MIL made. My husband was thrilled. So glad not to make a roux finally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Because of the ratings I made this for Christmas dinner. Apparently I didn't salt to taste enough. How should I know how much to salt 3 pounds of potatoes? I'm not going to taste it before it's cooked. Basically this recipe is potatoes and milk. Flour and butter don't add much taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Excellent basic recipe. Add smoked turkey, onion, garlic, pepper, salt or seasoned salt and parmesan cheese while cooking. When done, add smoked gouda and put back under the broiler for 5 min to brown. Really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
this recipe is just like what mom made when I was growing up. mom grew up all around the amish with german grand parents. its just like the amish dish I grew up with. yes it can be considered bland but the amish rarely use much seasoning beside salt pepper and sugar! unless you consider bacon grease a seasoning.lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rg G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Good starter recipe. Add sour cream, Onion soup mix, cream of asparagus or cream of broccoli soup, black pepper, and top with monterey jack cheese to make it pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dean Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Made this tonight, and thought it was really, really good! As per other reviews, I made the butter and flour into a roux, then added the milk and cooked it just until it started to get thick. (I used unsalted butter, and added a sprinkle of Mrs. Dash to the sauce since my mother is on a low-sodium diet.) Topped it with cubes of lower-sodium ham and flakes of Parmesan cheese and baked as directed. The creamy, rich flavor really surprised me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States