Scalloped Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Just like mom's basic recipe except she didn't use the hotter oven to start. I add chopped onion and black pepper at each layer. Sometimes use seasoning salt. Easy to add cheese if desired. Also easy to scale down for two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Solon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Any recipe that can withstand my get-in-a-hurry and not-paying-attention mistakes and still come out great gets a top rating from me! Football was on last night, and I planned on putting this together during halftime..that was the hurry part. I didn't finish before the 3rd quarter started...that was the not pay attention because I'm watching the game part! To up the flavor, I chopped onion and layered that with the potatoes. I also added freshly gound pepper and shredded sharp cheddar cheese along with the salt, and I mixed the flour into the milk and poured over each layer as I made them. But...it was halfway into the cooking time when I realized that I had forgotten to use the butter! I took the pan out of the oven and let it cool for a bit, then mixed in the bits of butter and stirred everything together. I then smoothed the mixture and baked until the potatoes were tender. You would have never known this started as a disaster. They were creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I used a few more seasonings than what is listed in the recipe: pepper, garlic powder, minced onion, and parsley flakes. I personally like a bit more seasoning on my potatoes, but I followed the directions as written. They took about 50 minutes to finish, and they were completely worth it. I would make these again any and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
this is almost exactly how my boyfriend's mother makes them, she just doesnt measure the ingredients out, and she adds pepper with the salt in the layers. A very easy and very yummy hearty side dish. The ONLY thing I would probably do different is to add a little chopped onion and/or garlic to the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Outstanding, a taste of home. Great with a pound of cooked ham diced tiny, sprinkle a handful on each layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This is the "real deal", almost identical to the recipe given to me years ago by an Irish lady. (And the Irish really know their 'taters!). I partially peel the potatoes, but leave some skin on - we all need our fiber. And I slice the potatoes very thin using a mandolin - but patience with a sharp knife worked well before I bought this gadget. My family loves this and it is easy to modify for my gluten sensitive grand-daughter - I just make it with her special flour. Because my family likes it with cheese, I generally add shredded cheese with each layer, and you can spice it up or down according to the tastes of the people you are feeding. Garlic powder and perhaps a little chili powder for adults, plain for kids. Add this to your recipe box for a treat for 2 people or 100 - you'll get great reviews every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grunky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocean Grove, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
WOW, !!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.!! I loved it.. reminds me so much of the scalloped potatoes my mom used to make. I followed your recipe to the "T" and did not change a single thing - absolutely delicious !! :o) thanks again for sharing !!! Now some of my friends and family are asking me for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevecooks129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
What a Great and Easy Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I chose to do this recipe as I had tons of potatoes and a lot of milk to use up. Not too bad considering how few ingredients it uses. I used garlic salt instead of normal salt otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I like how it doesn't feel greasy or fatty as other scalloped potatoes taste like. I will definitely be keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
VERY TASTY...made it for Easter dinner, my family loved it. I added just a little cheese to the sauce and sprinkled some on top. And we didn't have mayo, so I used 2 Tbs. of plain yogurt...it worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K. Hopson

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States