Scalloped Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I have never made scalloped potatos but this turned out more like potato soup! It had good flavor but wayyyy to soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I have to admit that I hate when people rate a recipe that they've adjusted the first time they make it, but I'm doing it anyway. I made these potatoes tonight following the adjustments suggested by Melyssa Evans (minus parmesan, only because I didn't have it). The dish was awesome with the revisions, and having attempted scalloped potatoes in the past, I think the original was a good base, but I would have needed extra spice. The proportions, though, are what matters, as they are an excellent base and could probably take on any of your favorite potato fixings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Weaver-Beal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I was yearning for good old-fashioned scalloped (and NOT AU GRATIN) potatoes so I halved the recipe to make for DH and myself. As did many reviewers before me, I made a roux white sauce instead of pouring the milk on top last. I also used olive oil instead of butter and added garlic and onion powder, dry mustard, pepper, and freshly grated parmesan to the sauce. The dish was excellent with just the right consistency and no canned soup taste. I'm a potato lover, and this recipe lets you taste and enjoy the texture of the potatoes. I highly recommend you slice the potatoes with a mandolin or food processor, as very thin and uniformly thick slices of potatoes work best. This recipe has the perfect proportions of potato, flour and liquid and you can season it to make it your own. Thanks, Buchko, for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBeeN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Excellent as-is, but really good as a base recipe. Slices Yukon Golds with my mandolin slicer, very thin and used half heavy cream and half 2% milk. I was surprised how buttery and flavorful this turned out. The top pieces were nice and crispy. Next time, I'll add thinly slices garlic, just 2% milk and perhaps some cheese. Would be great with chives sprinkled on top as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HipChickDigs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Just like Grandma's. I sliced & boiled my potatoes for a few min because I started dinner too late. Because the potatoes were then partially cooked, I followed the baking instructions(temps) but reduced the final bake to 30 min. Absolutely PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Some how I had a rating typed in here, when I just made it the first time tonight. So good!! I can't say how the rest of my family liked it because the hubby hasn't tried yet and my picky 5 year old is scared if it. Its the delish & classic taste I was looking for!! I think it would also be a great base for an au gratin potato, but aside from possibly adding other seasonings per taste its perfect as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyKins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bawlf, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Provost, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I just added some pepper, I don't use salt. I have made these several times and always get good reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Scalloped potatoes complimented an Easter ham dinner. Great suggestions from the other users! Made the goop ahead of time in a roux. Also added fresh parsley and chives along with diced onions. Perhaps the next time try it with a cup of sour cream...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Awesome...just like my irish father in law used to make. Sometimes he would throw in a handful of cheese for a treat, but usually it was just this version. It does not get lumpy, no roux is required. And yes, pepper is good, but not mandatory. I love that it is one pot, and no canned soups added in!! Simple and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MsVal
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Buchko this is perfect as is, but I'm a bacon hound so like my mother always did I topped it with a few strips of the good stuff. I'd never had the instructions or measurements written down before, always eyeballed it like Mom did but with the exact same ingredients. I used your recipe and they were almost exactly the same! Thank you for taking the time to measure, it is a lot easier recommending your recipe for them to try, rather than trying to explain what a couple of handfuls of flour looks like! lol Bravo on the perfect recipe, Buchko!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsVal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Mom's Scalloped Potatoes

Perfectly creamy scalloped potatoes, just like Mom would make.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States