Scalloped Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Used three different potatoes sliced to layer into a pan. Sprinkled each layer with seasoning salt, garlic powder, and a small amount of flour. Probably used only 2 T each of flour and butter. Only added butter to the final layer. Covered and baked for almost an hour on a cookie sheet. Glad I did, as it spilled over. Also used skim milk to 3/4 pan height. Outstanding, creamy scalloped potatoes. Great lower calorie option, even without any cheese. Plan on making many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I would say a four star doing it exactly by the recipe AND REMEMBER this is the old fashioned way so expect that...I would give it a five star if you added pepper when doing the layers. I also sifted the flour on each layer instead of sprinkling with a spoon, this may have helped with the clumping that people were talking about because I didn't have that happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
In my almost 40 years of marriage, I have never been able to find a Scalloped Potato recipe that I could master. Most of them seemed to curdle, be lumpy or taste bland. THIS one, however, worked!!!! The potatoes were soft, the sauce was plentiful and thick and no lumps and no curdling! This is DEFINITELY going in my recipe file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
A deliciously simple recipe for basic (and tasty!) Scalloped Potatoes. I didn't have to add or change a thing, other than it took forever for the milk to boil (I poured it straight from the fridge) so I wound up cranking the heat to 475 until it boiled, than lowered to 425 and started checking for doneness after 30 minutes. These were a BIG hit at Christmas dinner, my husband said they tasted just like his grandmother's. I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is a TRUE scalloped potatoes recipe. If you add cheese, that changes it to AU GRATIN style. If it is bland adding garlic or garlic powder or more onions and a little black pepper should do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lumos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bradford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I used this basic recipe and added shredded cheddar and coarsely chopped bacon. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
These are terrifically simple. I sliced one leek and layered that with the potatoes. I used whole wheat flour as that seems to thicken up better than regular. Then topped the whole thing with a good sprinkling of seasoning salt and pork chops. The only downside is that it boiled over in my oven. The taste was wonderful. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Excellent! Only change was I added some fresh ground pink peppercorns. The flavor from this simple combination of ingrdiants was so rich and tasty. Easy recipe to follow for such a great result. Other flavorings really are not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amberoxy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
OMG!! Its incredible! I used milk straight from the fridge so needed to lay foil on top of the potatoes for about 10 minutes at the begining so they wouldn't burn, took about ten minutes for them to start bubbling around the edge. Try layering 8 ounces of grated Gruyère cheese with the potatoes.... I can't begin to tell you how GREAT it is. Two of us ate 1/2 the pan and had to restrain ourselves from eating the rest right then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States