Scalloped Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Just like Grandma's. I sliced & boiled my potatoes for a few min because I started dinner too late. Because the potatoes were then partially cooked, I followed the baking instructions(temps) but reduced the final bake to 30 min. Absolutely PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Some how I had a rating typed in here, when I just made it the first time tonight. So good!! I can't say how the rest of my family liked it because the hubby hasn't tried yet and my picky 5 year old is scared if it. Its the delish & classic taste I was looking for!! I think it would also be a great base for an au gratin potato, but aside from possibly adding other seasonings per taste its perfect as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bawlf, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Provost, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I just added some pepper, I don't use salt. I have made these several times and always get good reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Scalloped potatoes complimented an Easter ham dinner. Great suggestions from the other users! Made the goop ahead of time in a roux. Also added fresh parsley and chives along with diced onions. Perhaps the next time try it with a cup of sour cream...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Awesome...just like my irish father in law used to make. Sometimes he would throw in a handful of cheese for a treat, but usually it was just this version. It does not get lumpy, no roux is required. And yes, pepper is good, but not mandatory. I love that it is one pot, and no canned soups added in!! Simple and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MsVal
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Buchko this is perfect as is, but I'm a bacon hound so like my mother always did I topped it with a few strips of the good stuff. I'd never had the instructions or measurements written down before, always eyeballed it like Mom did but with the exact same ingredients. I used your recipe and they were almost exactly the same! Thank you for taking the time to measure, it is a lot easier recommending your recipe for them to try, rather than trying to explain what a couple of handfuls of flour looks like! lol Bravo on the perfect recipe, Buchko!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsVal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Thank you! MIL used to make a potato dish like this. She would tear up pieces of American cheese and layer it on top of the flour. Very simple, and always good. I've tried to replicate it and could never get the quantities of flour and milk correct. I omit the butter and replace it with the American cheese. A taste of home for my hubby. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arctic200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Very much like my moms. Only thing additional she adds is pepper and then once all in the dish she sprinkles some Paprika on top to give it that nice brown coloring on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinlouwho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This amazing recipe is one I grew up with, in fact it's probably the first dinner I ever helped with as a little girl (so much fun to layer those potatoes ;). We enjoyed it as written, sometimes adding chopped cooked leftover ham to make a hearty meal. We did just bake at 375 for roughly a full hour. Thanks for posting, it's a great meal and has so many happy memories for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Just like mom's basic recipe except she didn't use the hotter oven to start. I add chopped onion and black pepper at each layer. Sometimes use seasoning salt. Easy to add cheese if desired. Also easy to scale down for two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Solon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States