Scalloped Potatoes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
This was EXCELLENT, BUT, here are some changes to make this recipie more condusive to larger cooking needs: 1st double the soup part(this makes it condusive to 9x13" glass dish. Then substitue 1 of the cans of cheese soup for cream of mushroom. Also to the soup add a healthy sprinkle of Lowery's Season salt(or Johnnys if you prefer). When you cheese the top, use 2cups shredded cheese. Then cook for 1hr and 15 min(the larger pan means longer cooking time. Good Recipie, I btought 3 pans of this to church poluck, they scrapped the dishes CLEAN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
280 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
My husband and 16 month old loved this! I added about 1/4 c of sour cream to the cheese soup and a little bit of milk. Also, when layering, I sprinkled salt, pepper, garlic and onion salt over the soup mix and then added the shredded cheese. This was super easy and very yummy. I will be making my potatoes like this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This is very similar to a recipe I already had that uses cream of celery soup. Either soup is good but with either, use 1/2 cup milk and 4 cups sliced potatoes. Yukon gold are especially good. If you substitute celery soup, you will need 1 cup of grated cheese. Bake 375 covered 1 hour, uncover & bake 15 min, sprinkle with paprika. Yum. I like this recipe because with using cheese soup, you don't have to use as much cheese. Don't skimp on the onion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I made these potatoes last night for dinner and they were a hit. I made red skin potatoes and sliced them very thin. I took the advice of others and used 1 can of cheddar cheese soup, 1 can of cream of mushroom, 1/2 chopped onion, 1/2 cup milk, black pepper, garlic powder and salt in the mixture. Layered it and covered it in the oven on 375 for 1 hour. Put the shredded cheddar on top and let it melt & brown for about 10 minutes. I also left the skin on the potatoe. MAN O MAN.....LET ME TELL YOU. This recipe is simple, delicious & is the BOMB. It's a keeper & in the Recipe Box. Thank you for sharing! (I am going to add 1/2 cup of sour cream next time)....Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Sisson
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I thought this was good but I changed it quite a bit. I added milk, lots of onion, and lots more cheese...a mixture of colby jack and mozzarella. It turned out good this way but next time I will add garlic powder, more milk, and will definately cook it longer. I would recommend baking at 350 for 60-90 minutes. Good starting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I tripled this recipe and also added about one cup of light sour cream and almost one cup of half and half, which did make the soup mixture very creamy and easy to spread on top of the potatoes. I kept the foil on for the first hour and then took the foil off for the last half hour of baking - it took longer cause my pans were very full. Also added lots of black pepper and a bit of garlic powder. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
YUMMY! I tweaked this a little, but not much. I used about 6 or 7 potatoes to make a bit bigger batch, so I added some sour cream and cream of mushroom soup to the cheese soup to make enough sauce. I baked it in a foil lined 9x13 pan for about an hour or so, and it turned out GREAT. It was a big hit and I've already got requests to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I cooked this recipe for 200 people. It was very good. I followed the reiew that used 1/2 cheddar cheese soup and the other 1/2 cream of mushroom. This variation made this recipe excellent. I would recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
I would certainly not hesitate to serve this dish to company. I did, however, make a couple of changes by mixing 1/4-1/2 cup of milk to the soup,slicing the onion into rings instead of chopping it up and not putting the shredded cheese on top until towards the end of the cooking time. I used a 13 x 9 inch glass dish and at 375 degrees it was actually almost ready before the 45 minutes were up. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving and followed the recipe exactly. This is so easy to make and it was wonderful and cheesy. I did let it cook longer than what the recipe stated to get the cheese browner, but it is definitely a keeper and was a nice change from the traditional sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States