Scalloped Pineapple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
This WAS excellent with ham. I made it for Christmas dinner and it was good. The on;y thing I will change is to cut down on the amount of butter next time. It came out a little greasy but the recipe is definitely a keeper!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
Very good side to baked ham. I doubled the recipe, using half the butter and half the sugar called for and the 12 people at my table all loved it. I can't imagine using the full amount of sugar and butter -- it would be way too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
Such a great recipe! Whenever I serve it, I get rave reviews - perfect with ham, chicken, turkey, pork. I usually only put 1 cup of sugar so it's not too sweet. Very easy and highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
Do NOT use all of the butter or sugar called for in this recipe. I did not read the reviews ahead of time, and after my casserole came out too greasy and way too sweet, I decided to see what others had said. I would use only 1/2 stick of butter and 1 cup sugar. I could hardly taste the pineapple, which should have been the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIMARIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
It's a wonderful recipe! I only use 1/2 cup butter and 1 cup sugar and feel that the salt, pepper and spices are optional. (The mixture that is to be poured over the bread cubes will look curdled. Not to worry!) It is a great sidedish with ham or turkey and can also be used as a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I made this for a friend of mine and we both LOVED it!! Very sweet and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This did not turn out for me. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I reduced my butter and sugar amounts as others have suggested. However, I still found it to be too sweet and soggy. I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
The sugar and butter both seemed excessive so I cut them in half. This recipe was VERY good. Even guests that didn't think they liked pineapple enjoyed it. Will make every Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This is the dish my gramma would make for families that were suffering a loss and dealing with funeral issues. Wonderful comfort food. Only diff in recipe is about 3/4c. brown sugar instead of white, 1 stick butter (really should be butter not margarine for ultimate flavor), and no seasonings. We melt butter in bottom of dish, mix everything else, and pour over the butter. Because of it's richness and my lack of self-control, this is a rare treat when it's not for social functions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

How to Make Scalloped Oysters

See how to make a creamy, decadent oyster side dish for special occasions.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States