Scalloped Pineapple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was really delicious. I tried it Easter for family dinner as well. There wasnt any left and a couple folks asked for the recipe. For the sugar I added about a 1/4 cup with the egg white and the rest (1 1/4) cup to the butter and egg yolk part. I will be making it next year ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I made this for the first time today for Easter dinner. As I got to step three, I was confused about adding the sugar as I had added all the sugar during step 2. My sons girlfriend helped me to figure out that I was probably supposed to add a small amount of sugar. Hence "Gradually add sugar, continuing to beat until stiff peaks form." I decided to persevere. It took a long time whip up to stiff peak stage. It had a texture like a meringue. I used my kitchenaid stand mixer. Then I combined the yolks, butter & milk which didn't incorporate smoothly probably for lack of sugar. I added pineapple and bread (used Country White as per another reviewer) and then it went together better. I also added a teaspoon of fresh lemon zest to batter. I folded in the egg white/sugar and popped it in a glass baking dish lined with parchment. It filled up the 11x7 inch pan. I was afraid that it would puff up and overflow. It did puff up a little bit but didn't overflow. Then it kinda flattened out when I took it out of the oven. The end result- it was really delicious. Everybody loved it. There was nothing left. Scalloped Pineapple was a great accompaniment to Ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This was super! I made it this morning for Easter dinner with the family as guinea pigs....it was a huge hit. I've been ordered to bring it to each family function. And SO easy to make! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sportyredsaab
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I halved this recipe, as I was making it for just me and my husband. I ended up using two eggs and a little extra bread (maybe 2 1/4 cups) and split everything else in half. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sportyredsaab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Plainfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
We all loved it. I used less sugar and It was very good. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Wonderful recipe. I added 1 cup coconut and 1 cup chopped pecans. Got alot of compliments. Very light and not too sweet. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharpsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hummelstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This dish is amazing, if your even thinking of trying it you should just do it. I use it as a dessert, Vanilla ice cream with it when its fresh from the oven is the best!! I don't mess with the eggs, I just wisk them in with the milk (half n half is even better), and I add vanilla... You won't regret it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Just as tasty as a pineapple upside down cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I Love this! My Mom makes this and I have made a few changes. I prefer day old bread, like a sourdough, or country white. Not wonder bread...too gummy. I use the whole rings of pineapple and cut in 1/4's. It adds a different dimention if 1/4 cup or less...to taste, of citrus zest is used. Orange is fantastic, but I like Lime or lemon best. Do not skimp on the Butter! This is sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I wanted to add some additional information about my recipe: This easter I had a diabetic aunt come for dinner so I substituted all of the sugar in the recipe with Splenda. It turned out perfectly. I was afraid that it might need the sugar for consistency/thickness but it was great with the Splenda. I'll be making it this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaylene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scalloped Oysters

See how to make a creamy, decadent oyster side dish for special occasions.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States