Scalloped Pineapple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was really delicious. I tried it Easter for family dinner as well. There wasnt any left and a couple folks asked for the recipe. For the sugar I added about a 1/4 cup with the egg white and the rest (1 1/4) cup to the butter and egg yolk part. I will be making it next year ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I made this for the first time today for Easter dinner. As I got to step three, I was confused about adding the sugar as I had added all the sugar during step 2. My sons girlfriend helped me to figure out that I was probably supposed to add a small amount of sugar. Hence "Gradually add sugar, continuing to beat until stiff peaks form." I decided to persevere. It took a long time whip up to stiff peak stage. It had a texture like a meringue. I used my kitchenaid stand mixer. Then I combined the yolks, butter & milk which didn't incorporate smoothly probably for lack of sugar. I added pineapple and bread (used Country White as per another reviewer) and then it went together better. I also added a teaspoon of fresh lemon zest to batter. I folded in the egg white/sugar and popped it in a glass baking dish lined with parchment. It filled up the 11x7 inch pan. I was afraid that it would puff up and overflow. It did puff up a little bit but didn't overflow. Then it kinda flattened out when I took it out of the oven. The end result- it was really delicious. Everybody loved it. There was nothing left. Scalloped Pineapple was a great accompaniment to Ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This was super! I made it this morning for Easter dinner with the family as guinea pigs....it was a huge hit. I've been ordered to bring it to each family function. And SO easy to make! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sportyredsaab
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I halved this recipe, as I was making it for just me and my husband. I ended up using two eggs and a little extra bread (maybe 2 1/4 cups) and split everything else in half. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sportyredsaab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Plainfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
We all loved it. I used less sugar and It was very good. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Wonderful recipe. I added 1 cup coconut and 1 cup chopped pecans. Got alot of compliments. Very light and not too sweet. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharpsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hummelstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This dish is amazing, if your even thinking of trying it you should just do it. I use it as a dessert, Vanilla ice cream with it when its fresh from the oven is the best!! I don't mess with the eggs, I just wisk them in with the milk (half n half is even better), and I add vanilla... You won't regret it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Just as tasty as a pineapple upside down cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I Love this! My Mom makes this and I have made a few changes. I prefer day old bread, like a sourdough, or country white. Not wonder bread...too gummy. I use the whole rings of pineapple and cut in 1/4's. It adds a different dimention if 1/4 cup or less...to taste, of citrus zest is used. Orange is fantastic, but I like Lime or lemon best. Do not skimp on the Butter! This is sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I wanted to add some additional information about my recipe: This easter I had a diabetic aunt come for dinner so I substituted all of the sugar in the recipe with Splenda. It turned out perfectly. I was afraid that it might need the sugar for consistency/thickness but it was great with the Splenda. I'll be making it this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaylene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scalloped Oysters

See how to make a creamy, decadent oyster side dish for special occasions.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States