Scalloped Pineapple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
**EDIT** i made this again and realized that the first time i made it I accidently used only one stick of butter instead of the 2 (1 Cup) it calls for. 2 sticks of butter was too much and made it oily and greasy. 1 stick or 1/2 cup of melted butter was plenty. I also prefer using crushed pinapple instead of chunks.** Delicious! I used 1 C whipping cream instead of milk, brown sugar instead of white and added raisins and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pitkin, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I made this for a church Potluck Fellowship Lunch. I thought this sounded delicious but being that it's December (just after Thanksgiving) I added a cup of fresh cranberry's to the originial recipe. IT WAS AWESOME!!! Everyone that tasted it loved it and wanted the recipe! Thanks so much for this recipe. I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Making the recipe "as is" I gave this dish 4 stars. To make it 5 stars, I made the following changes: 1.) I used about 1/2 loaf of Italian bread. The "crust" pieces are really delish. I took the dish I was going to bake this in & then tore pieces to kinda fill the pan. If you don't have enough bread it can be too "wet". 2.) Use 4 eggs 3.) Add 1 Tbls vanilla 4.) Only use 3/4 cup sugar, it will be plenty sweet. 5.) Use 20 oz. can CRUSHED Pineapple, untrained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meishley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I love this dish, and serve it to my B&B guests for breakfast. However, after baking it the original way many times, I have found you can do the following with equally good results and not so many calories: replace 1 C butter with 1/4 C butter and 3/4 C low fat buttermilk; I use plain almond milk (no sugar) for the milk, and use 1 C sugar rather than 2 cups. With these changes you've eliminated >500 calories by replacing the butter and 775 calories by eliminating a cup of sugar. The dish is still sweet and you don't have to feel so guilty about eating it. Oh, I did increase the bread by 3-4 slices to soak up the extra buttermilk. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I have to say, this was awesome. Next time I will try splenda instead of all the sugar. It was very sweet...If your diabetic do not eat! I will be making this again I'm sure. Family loved it. I wanted to take some for work but it never made it out of the house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junebugg81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I used Italian bread for this recipe and it was fantastic!! My mom said it was even better than what my Great-grandmother made and that was pretty great!! I made it for Thanksgiving and I am making it for Christmas dinner too!! My husband loved it!! Toasting the bread makes a big difference, it keeps the casserole from being soggy!! Soooo Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
thanks for reviewing my recipe; great ideas! i never really thought about adding anything to it, i love it so much the way it is. i think that if you make it with whipping cream it will add too much more fat to keep the butter content at one cup, too. the one thing i do to this recipe that VASTLY improves on it is make homemade wheat bread with stone ground wheat flour and use that for the toast. thanks for the pic too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nik

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I made this for my Bunco group to serve with ham and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This recipe should be called pineapple bread pudding not scalloped pineapple. "Scalloped" dishes do not have bread in them! Add a little Burbon sauce spiked with Malibu rum and you've got an awesome recipe for Pineapple Bread Pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Made it for Christmas dinner. It was very sweet. Had a nice flavor, but was more like a dessert than a side dish with ham. My family didn't really care for it. I probably won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States