Scalloped Oysters I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I made this recipe as written and I didn't care for these at all. I thought the flavor of the oysters was too strong but my husband loved them. I won't make them again unless he asks for them. With the price of oysters, I would rather use them in a dressing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Loved it. I make my own version which is almost exactly like this. DO NOT use canned or Willapoint oysters. I only use Appalachicola oysters, but when not available, I will use any others than those stinky things. I have to make it for every Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner. Quality of the oysters is so important when creating this amazing and expensive holiday treat. Men have fallen in love with me over this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by newtocooking2
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I like this recipe but the oyster flavor was really strong. I will use different oysters next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Warning: this is REALLY salty (I used unsalted butter too). I used whole wheat Ritz crackers, and it was still plenty buttery and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Delicious. I sauteed 2 stalks finely chopped celery and 2 scallions and dusted each layer with bread crumbs instead of adding to the Ritz crackers and butter mixture. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Excellent addition to our holiday meals! I doubled it and created more layers. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I started to think back to my aunt's Thanksgiving dinners at her place when she always made scalloped oysters. Well, with Thanksgiving approaching, I needed to feed my craving, so I tried this recipe. One word description. OUTSTANDING! My hats off to Debbie. (note): I used three jars of the large pacific oysters (just above 1 pint), but followed the rest of the recipe to the letter. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adeputy4u

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
We love having oyster roasts and this is a great way to use up any leftover oysters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Great recipe!!! Since I like a little more flavor, I sauteed 1/2 an onion in 1/8 of butter and then mixed it with the breadcrumbs. I also mixed in 2 tsp of Old Bay and 10 dashes of tabasco sauce. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This recipe is very easy to make and very delicious. I made for potluck last week and people loved it. Even the person who didn't like oyster loved it. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Scalloped Oysters

See how to make a creamy, decadent oyster side dish for special occasions.

Rockin' Oysters Rockefeller

See how to put a cheesy twist on traditional Oysters Rockefeller.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States