Scalloped Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
We loved this! I was confused about the canned corn, and whether I should drain it or not. I did, and the recipe came out great. Thank you for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
366 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lstevenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I love this recipe. I use a 16 oz bag of frozen corn instead of canned and add about 1/2 cup milk to make up for the liquid. Also, no sugar, it doesn't need it, there is enough sugar in the cornbread mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
For a simple recipe, this dish comes out quite well. I've made this "Scalloped Corn" dish two years in a row for Turkey Day to complement my more complicated recipes. It's not a gourmet recipe, so it doesn't have a lot of complex flavors or textures-- it's a straight forward, stick to your ribs kind of side dish that adults and children both enjoy (my family calls it a cornbread, which it kind of resembles). As weird as it is, I've noticed different people can follow this exact same recipe with significantly different results. For example, when my sister tried to follow this recipe, it came out looking like mush-- I have no idea why. In any event, I agree with other reviewers that if you are using the Jiffy mix, to cut down on the sugar (I use half the recommended amount). I also increased the baking time, but every oven is different, so just remember to check on it a couple times while it's baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianasaurusrex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
creamed corn? YUCK! but i've had a can of the stuff in my pantry for over a year. I figured I'd give this recipe a try. Oh boy, is it GOOD!!! Next time I will cut back on the sugar and experiment with half the amount of butter but regardless, I will make this over and over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2000
This is very good and easy to make. I like it better baked in a 8x8 or 9x9 pan for about 50 minutes. Let it set for a few minutes before serving. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Myself and my entire family loves this dish! The best part is it is sooo much better than my Mother-In-Law's scalloped corn dish and that's coming from my husband who is rather partial to his mother's cooking! The only change I make is to omit the sugar as this is plenty sweet without it. Thanks for a great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
This is the dish that I get requests for all the time. Whenever we have get-togethers I am always asked to bring this. It is so full of flavor! hint: DO NOT USE FAT FREE SOUR CREAM :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Stand alone, very good. Buttery and a complimentary cornbread sweetness. I added fresh chive and minced garlic in subsequent batches with spectacular results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
I followed this recipe to the letter and oh...was it good! Solid on the outside and ooozy in the middle. Just what I remember from my mammaw's T-day dinners. She was 1/2 Creek Indian and 1/2 Southern. Who knows corn better. They called it maize you know :-) Loved it! =D=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Nothing special here. It's corn in corn muffin mix and nothing more. I expected a lot more after reading the number of five star reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States