Scalloped Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is a decent recipe, but it's definitely a stretch to call it "scalloped corn". More like a Mexican cornbread. Scalloped implies the use of cheese and/or a white sauce and this recipe has neither. The flavors were good, although I substituted Greek yogurt for the sour cream and added minced onion, diced jalapenos and shredded cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made this for a last minute request to bring sides and this looked quick and easy to throw together. Never tried this recipe before nor have I ever had scalloped corn so wasn't sure what to expect. This was a bit hit and is now a permanent request from me for family parties. I was confused about whether or not to drain the corn so ended up draining it. I think next time I won't drain it after reading the reviews. It looks like by not draining it, it'll give it a moist consistency. Mine wasn't moist but I would have liked it that way even though everyone else thought it was yummy the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
We thought this was a little too muffin-y. We're going to try cutting the muffin mixture in half next time for a more creamy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I found this recipe several years ago and made if for my partner's family (who are Latino) and you would've thought I was serving them lobster! They couldn't stop telling me how good it was. Being from the midwest I just thought it would be something fast and easy to bring to a large family gathering (I doubled the recipe). Now I don't dare show up without bringing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Disappointed with this dish. I was expecting more of a creamy dish, a pudding like consistency. I found the "jiffy" corn muffin mix addition made the dish gritty. Not the scalloped corn dishes I remember. Not one dinner guest liked it nor did I. Never again~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana Beard Pier
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This is amazing. My family loves this for holidays. I double the recipe and there are no left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This Scalloped Corn was to die for!!! We licked the bowl clean!! Did add a 2nd can of cream of corn to make it moister. Was as good if not better than what we had at ChiChi's back in the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I have made this for years. It is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I omit the sugar and add about 1/4 Cup minced onion. You can also substitue the regular canned corn with frozen if you don't have any. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I have made this recipe for the past few years and my family loves it. They always make sure it's it's in my menu plan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States