Scalloped Corn and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Too eggy. Added dried onion flakes to try to up the flavor, and then it just tasted eggy and oniony. I did omit the sugar, but don't believe it would have improved the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
My husband and I love this recipe! My 4 year old won't eat the broccoli, but loves the corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
As others had suggested, I nixed the sugar and added more cheese. Sprinkled top with bread crumbs and it turned out excellent. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Great base recipe! I followed other's advice and omitted all sugar. I added a can of chicken to make it more of a meal, added pepper, garlic and thyme. Topped with breadcrumbs. Tasty! Next time I'll use even more spices, and maybe a little lemon juice to brighten it up. Will make again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
creamed corn is already sweet. Adding the 2 tbs of sugar just made this whole dish too unnecessarily sweet. The egg/cream corn/four combo was too weird. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Way too much salt for our liking. If I do make this recipe again I will definitely cut the salt in half or even to 1/4 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This was wonderful. I made it as written except that I used egg beaters instead of real eggs. I liked it so much that I barely ate the other things I made to go with it at dinner! It turned out softer than I thought it would even after I cooked it longer, but it tasted great! A great recipe to keep and share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BorzoiBabe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This dish was okay-nothing exciting. I omitted the sugar- you don't need it, and a whole box of frozen broccoli wasn't too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This is delicious, and so simple and easy to make! Other reviewers suggest reducing or omitting the sugar, and I agree. I used about two teaspoons instead of two tablespoons, and it was bordering on too sweet. I'll cut it down to one teaspoon next time. I used pepperjack cheese, which gave it a nice little kick, and fresh broccoli, which cooked fine from raw without any pre-cooking. I can also see many variations on this recipe - cauliflower or asparagus instead of broccoli, different cheeses, or to make it into more of a main dish, adding some browned sausage, crumbled bacon, ham, kielbasa, or cubed cooked chicken. Two warnings: The recipe says it makes six servings, but I would say, as a side dish, it makes only four modest servings at most. And mine cooked through just fine in 40 minutes in a gratin dish; an hour would have left it pretty dried out, I think. I'm not a fan of creamed corn on its own, but as an ingredient in various dishes, it's a handy thing to keep in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Yummy & easy! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States