Scalloped Corn and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Really great recipe to hang on to for that quick fix side you may be looking for. I agree with most reviews regarding the sugar. My recommendation: omit ALL sugar and salt (the corn is sweet & salty enough), use fresh broccoli instead (no need to steam before-hand) it cooks through perfectly in the pyrex with less of the "mushy-look" frozen may put out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
This is an excellent recipe. I made a few subtle changes. I used 1 TBSP sugar instead of 2, but I really think the sugar could be omitted entirely. I used the whole 10 oz. box of broccoli and added some half and half to compensate. I also added about 1/2 cup crushed saltines. This is a delicious side dish. Next time, I will use American or some other "soft" cheese in place of the cheddar. It didn't melt to my liking and I think it would have been better with a more gooey type cheese. I highly recommend this recipe, it's a nice change from plain scalloped corn. Very tasty and smells great when it's baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
Nice recipe when you are looking for something different to do with vegetables ... especially in the winter months. I play quite a bit with the recipe substituting different cheeses etc. so you can get many variations out of 1 base recipe. I omit the sugar as it is sweet enough without. I add a pinch of salt and a good grinding of fresh pepper. I have also used Gruyere cheese instead for a bit more kick. I use fresh broccoli and I have also substituted frozen corn when I don't have canned creamed corn on hand. I add some milk to the combined ingredients to give it the custard consistency. I have also thrown in some cauliflower. This recipe is now in my repertoire. Thank you JM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLYONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
I've made it twice now. First time I doubled the recipe and served it at a Boy Scout Pot-Luck. It was so light and fresh and colorful that it was a big hit. Also I add crushed saltines mixed with a little butter on top to form a crunchy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAKSH4
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
This is a surprisingly delicious dish. I made it for a church event and I had so many people begging me for the recipe. The idea of the two together didn't appeal to "me" because I'm not a creamed-corn lover, but it was easy and it was for a function. Since everyone else raved, I decided to make one for my family and it was a hit here too, so Try it. I really think you'll like it. But I'd double the recipe if you're feeding more than a family of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAKSH4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Senoia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
This recipe was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2000
This was a wonderful veggie casserole that I made for Thanksgiving this year and it was very quick and easy and had a great blend of flavors. I doubled the recipe as we served 17 people. Everyone raved about it, adults, kids and teenagers alike! Definitately a "must make again"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
YUMMY!! I was a skeptic of cream corn and broccoli together, but they really are delicious. Next time I will cut the sugar in half. The recipe does not say to steam the broccoli so I put it in frozen. It turned out great so I guess that was the correct way. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I cut the sugar in half because I think creamed corn has it's own sweet taste.Used fresh broccoli.I added some chopped onion, white pepper, and extra cheese. I was afraid it would be bland.I cut the baking time by 15 minutes.It was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharonville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
This was good. I personally think it does not need the tablespoon of sugar --- salt and peppper would make it more savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States