Scalloped Corn and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
This recipe was great - as a basis. I did not use sugar, after reading the above reviews. I used twice the cheese, added green onion, white onion, and bell pepper as well as some paprika, Tony Chachere's, and pepper. I also used twice the broccoli and added some regular canned corn. It turned out great! My husband loved it, especially with a dash of Tabasco. Next time I will use fresh broccoli (frozen broccoli is all stems - not my favorite part) and more spice. Great recipe and really easy to throw together and improvise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
YUM. My family and I loved this recipe. I have a hard time rating recipes, since I always use them as a starting point, I do not follow exactly. I left out the sugar - not needed! I added in kielbasa and 1/4th of an onion I needed to use, plus I used fresh brocoli. I give 4 stars since i know this recipe would work as is if you just leave out the sugar. Frozen or Fresh brocoli would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
VERY GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Initially, my hubby was definitely put off by the idea of this dish, but we really loved it! Yummy, perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I like recipes that will offer High-nutrition for my Backpacking and Hiking..this recipe I chose as a side dish for KOKONUTGRL/pork chops and fruit over rice..I like it also as a meal in-itself/might work well in a Pastry-type POT PIE,,will try it/simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doePastaB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Leave the sugar out and this will be a pretty good recipe. The corn is already sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Pawlicki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunshine Summit, California, USA
Living In: Julian, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Good texture, sweet taste, good way to get my son to eat broccoli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I made this with the addition of diced chicken breasts. It made a great casserole and still cooked in a reasonable amount of time. Will fix again. I will cut back on the amount of salt next time. Little to salty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garland, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Warsaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Based on other reviews, I left out the sugar, and only used 1/2 teaspoon of salt. It was very good. I also used a cup of shredded chedder cheese, becuase we love a lot of cheese with our broccoli. I did, however have to cook it for the full hour. At first I was only going to bake it for 45 minutes..but it looked too watery on top when I took it out, so I cooked it the remaining 15 minutes. My 3 yr old son had a bite, rubbed his belly and said.."That's good"..so its a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holbrook, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Very tasty. Family loved it. Used the entire package of frozen chopped brocolli - just cooked it a little longer. Got this in the oven a bit late so increased temp to 400 and kept an eye on it to make certain it did not burn. It took between 30 and 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States