Scalloped Corn II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This is the way my mother used to make scalloped corn. The only difference is we added 1 egg for each can of corn, 1/2 cup of half and half or mild, 1-2 tsp. of onion salt and pepper. It is delicious and my grown sons request the recipe to make it themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scotland, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Mission Hill, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This is the exact recipe my mom had made for years! There are others on this site that are more "cake" like (my grandma made that kind for holiday dinners) but this one was a Sunday dinner veggie growing up. Always brings back memories of adding too much milk and no enough crackers and having runny corn (which my dad hated) or not enough milk and way too many crackers and having a dry, gluey mess! Thanks for the recipe - I hope to pass it on to my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensett, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Love this recipe. My mom made it frequently when I was a kid. I add a little butter and salt and pepper to it. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiariamom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This was really good as is. I mean, you could add other spices and butter to jazz it up, but it's really good as is. It was really simple and didn't need much prep time at all. I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
My mother had always made this recipe. It is bland if you don't add anything, but add some salt, pepper, and butter then it taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cannon Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This was a family favorite growing up. I enjoyed this recipe but added two full packs of crushed saltines. Will make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mandiebakes
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I think it was wonderful. I think it is missing a little something but that may have been me. I think maybe it needed a bit more pepper and some salt in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandiebakes
Home Town: Upper Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This is the old tried a true Scalloped Corn recipe but I have always added chopped union and salt and pepper. A few years ago a neighbor made a full dinner for my family one year after I had just got home from the hospital and one of the things she brought was scalloped corn, but she added about 1/2 of a small jar of red pimento and I loved it and I now add the pimento every time I make it. Everyone liked it better. Good neighbors are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2000
this one is very plain. there are lots better ones here. Try the country corn bake...its very good and has flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States