Scalloped Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Clumpy. Fried cabbage tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly. It was good but a little bland. The next time I made it, I changed things up a little. Instead of crackers, I used Italian seasoned bread crumbs mixed with shredded 6-cheese (Italian blend) and garlic powder. YUM! What a difference. This is the perfect thing to take to a potluck - it's different without being bizarre. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This was a nice twist to a new way to make cabbage...We did enjoy it very much..I did add more salt and pepper..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula West

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Great side dish! As others stated, I changed it a little. I used yellow snack crackers and since I didn't have milk, I use half and half. I also put a handful of cheeder cheese in the mixture and then topped it off with the crackers, cheese and bacon pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
What a great side dish. Thanks! I took other reviewers advice, and added cheese on top. Also, used breadcrumbs instead of Saltine Crackers. I added some crispy fried bacon bits to create an interesting texture, and my husband asked me to make it again! That is a success!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nyabing, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This cabbage had very little flavor and was too "eggy" almost like a souffle, which was not what I was looking for. I will stick with the wonderful "creamed Cooked Cabbage" recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This is a great recipe that compliments a glazed corn beef dinner very well. I make it every year for St. Patrick's Day! It is easy to prepare and has a good taste that does not overpower the rest of the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Knocked it out of the park with this one, Ms. Sharon! More like this. I'm starting to like eating my vegetables. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
Mine turned out a little dry but I could have used a cabbage that was too big. Overall the flavor was good. I also added cheese to the top. Next time I might mix cheese into the caserole itself. Will make again but will adjust to make it more moist. It's worth another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
This was delicous!! I love cabbage and I made this to go along with slow roasted pork tenderloin, we had a crowd to dinner and everyone raved about this dish! I used less onion though, and used Herbamere to season the cabbage and onion before adding the milk. I also added cayenne and more black pepper than called for. I used whole wheat soda crackers for the cracker crumbs and seasoned them with herbamere and black pepper to make extra crust on top. I shredded Montery Jack cheese and spread it over the cabbage under the cracker crumbs, delious, really delicous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States