Scalloped Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly. It was good but a little bland. The next time I made it, I changed things up a little. Instead of crackers, I used Italian seasoned bread crumbs mixed with shredded 6-cheese (Italian blend) and garlic powder. YUM! What a difference. This is the perfect thing to take to a potluck - it's different without being bizarre. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2000
Very good. I used italian breadcrumbs in place of saltines. It was good but next time I will add cheese also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Made this last evening as someone had given me a head of cabbage. If I make it again I will add shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This was a nice twist to a new way to make cabbage...We did enjoy it very much..I did add more salt and pepper..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula West

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
It wasnt horrible but i would never serve this to guests. You definitely do not want to pour in the eggs like directed. It turned into scrambled eggs no matter how much you stired. It was so unappealing to the eye. I didnt like the idea of mixing in saltine cracker so i just sprinkled the top with seasoned breadcrumbs. Sorry but i will not make this again. I will look for other ways to cook/eat cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I've been looking for another way to get cabbage into our dinners, and this recipe was just great. It was easy and that's always a plus for me. I used Ritz crackers in place of the saltines, since that's all I had. It's flavor was both sweet and savory. And the added bonus was the family liked it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Great side dish! As others stated, I changed it a little. I used yellow snack crackers and since I didn't have milk, I use half and half. I also put a handful of cheeder cheese in the mixture and then topped it off with the crackers, cheese and bacon pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
I love cabbage, so this hit the spot for me. Needed a lot of salt and pepper. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
This was good, although I would likely make a couple of changes next time. I would lightly salt the cabbage prior to adding the milk/cheese mixture and would also add more cheese (aged cheddar for stronger flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This recipe needs no help-it is delicious the way it is! Cabbage, onions, butter, salt and pepper (not to mention the yummy eggs, milk, and cracker crumbs!)-what's bland about that? Cabbage alone has a strong taste! This recipe is yummy and as most recipes suggest, add salt and pepper to taste! Don't be afraid to try this recipe as submitted without all the suggested tweeks. Besides, the original recipe is a very budget-friendly dish-all the tweeks just make it more expensive AND more fattening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States