Scalloped Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Clumpy. Fried cabbage tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly. It was good but a little bland. The next time I made it, I changed things up a little. Instead of crackers, I used Italian seasoned bread crumbs mixed with shredded 6-cheese (Italian blend) and garlic powder. YUM! What a difference. This is the perfect thing to take to a potluck - it's different without being bizarre. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This was a nice twist to a new way to make cabbage...We did enjoy it very much..I did add more salt and pepper..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula West

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Great side dish! As others stated, I changed it a little. I used yellow snack crackers and since I didn't have milk, I use half and half. I also put a handful of cheeder cheese in the mixture and then topped it off with the crackers, cheese and bacon pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
What a great side dish. Thanks! I took other reviewers advice, and added cheese on top. Also, used breadcrumbs instead of Saltine Crackers. I added some crispy fried bacon bits to create an interesting texture, and my husband asked me to make it again! That is a success!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nyabing, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This cabbage had very little flavor and was too "eggy" almost like a souffle, which was not what I was looking for. I will stick with the wonderful "creamed Cooked Cabbage" recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This is a great recipe that compliments a glazed corn beef dinner very well. I make it every year for St. Patrick's Day! It is easy to prepare and has a good taste that does not overpower the rest of the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Knocked it out of the park with this one, Ms. Sharon! More like this. I'm starting to like eating my vegetables. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
Mine turned out a little dry but I could have used a cabbage that was too big. Overall the flavor was good. I also added cheese to the top. Next time I might mix cheese into the caserole itself. Will make again but will adjust to make it more moist. It's worth another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
This was delicous!! I love cabbage and I made this to go along with slow roasted pork tenderloin, we had a crowd to dinner and everyone raved about this dish! I used less onion though, and used Herbamere to season the cabbage and onion before adding the milk. I also added cayenne and more black pepper than called for. I used whole wheat soda crackers for the cracker crumbs and seasoned them with herbamere and black pepper to make extra crust on top. I shredded Montery Jack cheese and spread it over the cabbage under the cracker crumbs, delious, really delicous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States