Scalloped Cabbage with Ham and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jessica Rush
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Very good. wasn't sure what I was getting myself into with cheese and cabbage. but it was good. I used cheddar cheese instead of processed American. Also sprinkled with Frenchis fried onions instead of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Rush

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Havre, Montana, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sweetness
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This recipe was awsome! Even my husband loves it and he doesn't like much of what I make LOL. Made it just the way it was written. 2 thumbs up!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetness

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Really enjoyed this recipe. Made it as directed with one addition. Put a few sprinkles of dry mustard into. Sauce. My husband stated "it's a keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Recipe is great, but you need to make sure to use a VERY small amount of water, otherwise it will end up runny. I would say maybe a couple tablespoons is enough, because cabbage has so much water. Either that or be prepared to boil off a large amount, which will make the cabbage too soft. Also, save half the cheese to add on top to give it better visual appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I used this recipe for scalloped cabbage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Loved this! I've been trying to find new ways to enjoy cabbage, and this was a winner. Only thing I did differently was to add garlic powder to the cheese sauce, and used shredded sharp cheddar and shredded mozzarella instead of processed cheese. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Boy, I wasn't sure about this one, but it was 'really good'! I used a bag of cabbage, won't do that again, the head wouldn't be as tough. Also, next time I'll carmelize the onion. I used a cheddar/chez whiz combo. And last, and maybe least, is the extra spice I used, that I think is a must.... 1/2tsp curry(more if you like it)....you can't taste it, or even smell it, but it's there, perkin' things up....Hez
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kimberley, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Highly unusual for everyone at my dinner table to like a dish, but it happened here! Even my picky 13 year old loved it. I used an 8oz brick of sharp cheddar, that I shredded, and what was leftover of some cheese wiz from a recipe last week (I think about 6oz). My sauce was a bit thick because of all that cheese, so I added some additional whole milk (which is what I use when I make sauces). Also added a bit of fresh ground pepper. Steamed the cabbage and onion in a metal steamer basket until tender. Mixed with the ham and cheese. I had purchased a thick slice of smoked ham at the deli counter just for this recipe. Poured cabbage mixture into a buttered dish. Cooked a little longer than stated as I wanted a little bit of browning. It was a huge hit. I served with simple tomato slices, which my daughter ate with the cabbage casserole. We both think it might be interesting to layer tomato slices into the casserole, or dice up some fresh tomato. Oh, and for some reason the sauce was a lot thinner after cooking. Could be the cabbage continued to cook down. But it didn't matter, everyone spooned up the sauce! What a winner! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Very easy and good for leftover meat on those nights when you just can't think of anything else to make. I didn't have ham, so I used diced hot dogs and pepperoni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Delicious! Even my picky two year old enjoys this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Muma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hudson, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Mini Ham and Cheese Roll Dinner

Hot little sandwiches and cool pasta salad pair perfectly.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States