Scalloped Cabbage with Ham and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I used this recipe for scalloped cabbage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Loved this! I've been trying to find new ways to enjoy cabbage, and this was a winner. Only thing I did differently was to add garlic powder to the cheese sauce, and used shredded sharp cheddar and shredded mozzarella instead of processed cheese. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Boy, I wasn't sure about this one, but it was 'really good'! I used a bag of cabbage, won't do that again, the head wouldn't be as tough. Also, next time I'll carmelize the onion. I used a cheddar/chez whiz combo. And last, and maybe least, is the extra spice I used, that I think is a must.... 1/2tsp curry(more if you like it)....you can't taste it, or even smell it, but it's there, perkin' things up....Hez
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kimberley, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Highly unusual for everyone at my dinner table to like a dish, but it happened here! Even my picky 13 year old loved it. I used an 8oz brick of sharp cheddar, that I shredded, and what was leftover of some cheese wiz from a recipe last week (I think about 6oz). My sauce was a bit thick because of all that cheese, so I added some additional whole milk (which is what I use when I make sauces). Also added a bit of fresh ground pepper. Steamed the cabbage and onion in a metal steamer basket until tender. Mixed with the ham and cheese. I had purchased a thick slice of smoked ham at the deli counter just for this recipe. Poured cabbage mixture into a buttered dish. Cooked a little longer than stated as I wanted a little bit of browning. It was a huge hit. I served with simple tomato slices, which my daughter ate with the cabbage casserole. We both think it might be interesting to layer tomato slices into the casserole, or dice up some fresh tomato. Oh, and for some reason the sauce was a lot thinner after cooking. Could be the cabbage continued to cook down. But it didn't matter, everyone spooned up the sauce! What a winner! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Very easy and good for leftover meat on those nights when you just can't think of anything else to make. I didn't have ham, so I used diced hot dogs and pepperoni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Delicious! Even my picky two year old enjoys this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hudson, Michigan, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This was a nice and filling dinner. I was looking for a way to use up some cabbage when I found this recipe. The one change I made was to use white queso cheese in place of the processed American cheese. Served this with lettuce salad and garlic bread. Leftovers were good for the lunch the next day also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Wow! I can't say enough about this dish. I have made it several times. The first time with ham, the second with leftover chopped chicken (We like it better with chicken). I have even left out the meat and made it as a side dish. I cooked the cabbage with chicken broth when using chicken. This is a perfect side dish or casserole. You can do so much with this dish. It is more than a single recipe, it is the beginnings of so many. Sometimes with Tarragon, but Penzey's dried red pepper and minced garlic are a must in my house. Add Penzey's Fox Point seasoning and it is the bomb! (penzeys.com) I am not affiliated with them, I just love their seasonings! Thanks, Jeanie, for an awesome addition to my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I would give it a 3 1/2 stars. It was good but my husband said it isn't something he would go back to seconds for. However it is a good budget meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I was surprised how good this tasted. I followed the recipe pretty close. I did drain the cabbage/ham mixture before putting it in the pan. I used Velvetta as the cheese. I had leftover ham in the freezer and cabbage that needed to be used. Next time, I will probably steam in chicken broth, instead of water and add some garlic and maybe some other spices/herbs to the cheese mixture. I just felt it was missing a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annekj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Mini Ham and Cheese Roll Dinner

Hot little sandwiches and cool pasta salad pair perfectly.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States