Scalloped Cabbage with Ham and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2001
Very easy and tasty..I precooked the slaw and onion in the microwave to save on cooking time. I also added chopped tomato for color. I definately would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phelps, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
I thought it was a little bland, but my husband just couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Pretty good dinner. OFCOURSE I used the pre-packaged coleslaw (largest bag available)!! I didn't really get what it meant by "steam" the slaw...steam it like you do to veggies or put it in the pan? Well, I chose the latter, only instead of water, I used some chicken broth (just barely enough to cover the bottom of the pan). I sprinkled some garlic/onion powder over the cabbage as well for extra taste. Funny thing, the recipe doesn't state what to do with the ham but luckily, I'm a smart woman so I layered it over the cabbage. The cheese sauce is a small pain if your not patient and it is a little too much but overall, this was very good. I used season bread crumbs and it was a good stick-to-your-ribs meal! Thanks Jeanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
excellent way to get children to incorperate cabbage in thier meal. My grandchildren loved it!Even those who were not fond of cabbage.This is definately a recipe I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I absolutely loved this recipe. A real "comfort" dinner on a cold winters' night. I mixed the sauce into the steamed cabbage and onion, then layered this with the ham and topped with the bread crumbs, sprinkled paprika and parsley over top. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
good, different, and easy. Used bag of coleslaw and subbed cheddar for the american cheese. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I just made this and had to come and give it a review. With the changes I made, it is really special. To this I added a can of corn. I also used a mixture of Velveta and cheddar cheeses. When making the sauce in the pan, I only used a bit of milk and threw in a can of Cheddar Cheese Soup. I added a few dashes of nutmeg, cayenne and onion power and black pepper. On top of the breadcrumbs, I did sprinkle paprika and parsley, as taken from another reviewer. Delicious and makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Very good. The only changes I made were substituting Velveta for the American cheese, added more ham and cooked for about 15 extra minutes till the cheese started to brown a bit. My husband went back for thirds. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
We enjoyed this recipe a lot. I don't like processed cheese so I used shredded cheddar. The second time I made it I used French's Fried Onions on top while it baked the last 15 minutes. It was better than the bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimless

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States