Scalloped Cabbage with Ham and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I was surprised how good this tasted. I followed the recipe pretty close. I did drain the cabbage/ham mixture before putting it in the pan. I used Velvetta as the cheese. I had leftover ham in the freezer and cabbage that needed to be used. Next time, I will probably steam in chicken broth, instead of water and add some garlic and maybe some other spices/herbs to the cheese mixture. I just felt it was missing a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annekj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I'm giving this 4 stars because my family LOVED it--I thought it was pretty bland but it was a huge hit, thus, the four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla Lackey-Rudin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I followed the recipe for the cabbage, onion and ham but had leftover very cheesy Au gratin potatoes so I used them instead of the plain cheese sauce on top and it turned out real good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Minus all the chopping, very easy to make and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kennedy Family
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This was so awesome! I let the cabbage/onion cook down in 1 cup of chicken broth, added the ham (to warm it up) then strained the whole thing prior to putting in the buttered dish. That worked well as there was a tiny bit more liquid formed in the bottom of dish during the baking period. Had i not drained the original liquid it would have turned out too watery. The topping was awesome! i didn't have velveta so i mixed the butter/flour mixture, added the milk then about 1 cup of shredded mild cheddar and it melted perfectly... layered over the top and baked w/ the bread crumbs and dotted w/ butter as directed. Was a TOTAL HIT!!! We will eat this often!!! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kennedy Family

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was very tasty. I used shredded cheddar instead of processed cheese, and added some dijon mustard to the cheese sauce for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was very tasty. I used grated cheddar instead of American cheese and added some Worcestershire sauce to the cheese sauce. I also added some cooked whole wheat wide egg noodles to the ham and cabbage mixture. DH and I liked it a lot. It's a great way to use up leftover ham. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Loved this! Very comforting on a cool night. I used two small bags of cold slaw, used a little more butter/flour/milk... probably about 3 tbsp each of butter and flour and about a cup and a half of milk. I added a little nutmeg, salt, garlic powder and onion powder to my sauce. I used about 6 or 7 slices of american cheese because that is what I had on hand. Put the ham on top of the cabbage mix and topped with breadcrumbs I mixed with a little melted butter. It was very very good. Will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is definitely a clean out the fridge dinner. I have made this a few times now but noticed I have never reviewed it. This last time I added some leftover grilled corn, hot sauce, and used crushed up cheddar Goldfish crackers as the topping for a change. I prefer to mix the sauce into the casserole instead of pouring it on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Awesome casserole. I didn't change a thing and it's low in carbs too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States