Scalloped Cabbage with Fennel and Cranberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I didn't really like this. I like all the ingredients, love fennel, but honestly it's just missing something to bring it all together. It tasted like each ingredient just simmered in a pot. After the first taste, I thought it needed some acid, so I added a splash of vinegar, which helped a bit. I do wonder if it might be better with fresh cranberries, as others have suggested. I used dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I ate a similar dish in a restaurant and was thrilled to find this just as delicious. I have never cooked with fennel before, but plan to find more recipes and use it regularly. I did not use the cranberry juice the recipe called for and did not find the dish lacking in any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Never seen a fennel before I got one in my veggie co-op basket and frankly didn't have high hopes. This was awesome though! I didn't have fennel seeds or cranberries of any sort so I added most of a can of cranberry sauce and a tablespoon of horseradish mustard and whipped it up with the broth. Added a couple sliced carrots. Used leftover rotisserie chicken. Cooked covered the full hour and stirred in the middle. Served over brown rice. Yum! My 2 year old even ate 3 bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is so delicious. I didn't have fennel bulb so used double fennel seeds. Substituted smoked turkey sausage for the smoked chicken. Used cranapple juice but worked find. Great for one dish meal if you plan on two servings per person. Probably be even better when I add the fennel bulb but it's superb as it is. We will be having this dish from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
It was the first time I've ever used a fennel bulb and will do it many more times. We liked the dish but i would not bake it uncovered for the last half hour. It dried out the chicken. I used only a half cup broth and a cup juice, no oil, and I added seasoned salt which really brought out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This was too sweet. Way, way too sweet. I liked the flavors, but we just never did eat much of it. I gotta say - in our house - food is never thrown out. It was weird. I think that if I try this again, I would use chicken broth instead of the juice and instead of dried cranberries I would use fresh (or the fresh frozen I keep in the fridge.) Like I say - the fennel, cabbage, turkey, cran flavors win - lets just not douse them in so much sugar, all right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This is a good recipe, and easy to veggietize. I added firm tofu instead of the turkey, and a bit more broth (because I had more and did not want to waste it), and it was wonderful. The cranberries are really a key part if it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Very exotic flavors...I've prepared it with chopped ham and with no meat at all and it was excellent. I could not easily find fennel bulb so I just added another teaspoon of fennel seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
So good! Didn't have a bulb of fennel, so I used 5 stalks of celery. Also used fresh cranberries and didn't have the cranberry juice, so I used extra broth (homemade turkey broth). The fennel seeds went great with this. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
ABSOLUTELY YUMMY AND TOTALLY VEGANIZABLE!! so I used a half lb of super firm tofu instead of turkey. Everything else is exact... Served with some soy sauce. WOW. I might try this over some thin savory crepes... yep... delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States