Scallop and Chorizo Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Great recipe! I found using the ingredient search in an attempt to not waste food in the fridge. I used large sea scallops and only seared them in the rendered fat from the sausage (I didn't wipe out the pan and add oil). Be sure to buy Basque or Spanish style Chorizo, not Mexican Chorizo. If you use the correct portions of pasta and the correct style of Chorizo, you won't be disappointed! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skiing*orca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This is my recipe. Just wanted to remind people that the recipe calls for only 8 oz of pasta not the full pound that others have mentioned using and not having enough sauce. More important is not too dump all the food over all of the pasta at the very beginning. The way I do it is to just start each plate with a small amount of pasta and then cover liberally with everything else. The pasta is not meant to be the main component. Once the balance is less pasta more everything else I think the saiuce is a good amount. Hope you enjoy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Not much flavour other than the flavour of chorizo. Seems like a stir-fry dumped on pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maimai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This was fabulous! I couldn't give it 5 stars (because I changed a few things) but it is certainly worth 5. I do have to agree that there isn't enough sauce for the amount of pasta. I would definitely double the amount. That being said, I chopped the peppers to making it more bite sized, and omitted the clam juice (didn't have any). This is one of my new favorite meals, thanks so much George!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
The Best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I'd give it a 5 except I changed a few things. The first time I made this, I did exactly as the recipe called to do and was disappointed because the pasta ended up being too dry for us. Also there were not enough scallops for that amount of pasta (again for us). So this time I used shells for the pasta, cut the casing off the chorizo and cooked it crumbly. As I did that the pasta was cooking. Then I did the peppers and added some cayenne peppers without the seeds to the red peppers. Next I did the scallops but used a whole pound cut into pieces. I put in a half pound of shrimp as well. When the pasta was done, I drained it then added the peppers, scallops and shrimp to it. Finished as the recipe suggested , but at the end when the wine had reduced by half, I returned all the pasta etc. to the pan and kept on stirring it until everything was coated well. The shells caught part of the chorizo and peppers and it was absolutely delicious. Thanks for a starter recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
OUTSTANDING !!! And very simple, slightly time consuming. I used shrimp instead of scallops which shortened the time considerably....WILL ABSOLUTELY MAKE AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I loved this recipe but couldn't give it 5 stars (because my husband hated it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Really liked the combination of the chorizo and scallops. Quick and easy, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: May 12, 2005
Hmm, not sure about this one. I didn't like it at all - the flavors just didn't work for me. So, the 3 stars is Husband's grade. The chorizo absolutely floored me - the chorizo I've had in the past was firm, sliceable and, well, sausage-like. The sausage I bought for this was really squishy, and even though I formed it into small balls before browning, they fell apart and turned to sausage sludge. I think this is what put me off the recipe from the start. Oh well. You can't win 'em all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Chef John's BLT Pasta

Blow off the bread and turn a classic sandwich into the perfect pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States