Scallop-Topped Portabello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Are you kidding me. Heinz Chili Sauce. What an abomination. I followed the recipe and it would have been good but at this point I questioned your judgement but followed the recipe anyway. Awful - the tomato chili sauce ruined this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This was rather good but I don't know that I would like it "alone"...which doesn't really matter because I will always serve it the way I did this time with Onion Pasta from this site. The two combined were delicious. I found it much easier to soften the mushroom caps in a 400 degree oven for about 10 minutes. It is the way I have always done it and when I started them on the stove I just thought to myself, why am I doing this. It really is a personal preference. I also added more chili sauce, about a teaspoon and it still wasn't too spicy. Before going in the oven I threw on some parmesan for good measure...it never hurts anything in my world. Absolutely beautiful presentation!! Thank you for the recipe. It was worth the trip to the asian market for the Kewpie Mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Wonderful dish! Tasty enough to replace a gourmet steak for non-beef eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Made this tonight and it was great. Definitely do not need 2 pounds of scallops with 4 mushroom caps. Couldn't find the Japanese mayo, so I found a simple recipe and made my own. Also added cayenne pepper to scallops and some shredded parmesan cheese on top. Definitely can adjust the recipe to suit individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This is DELICIOUS. I couldn't find Japanese mayo so I made a spicy sriracha/mayo mix to use instead as was suggested by another review. Worked fine. Small mushroom caps are perfect for appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ms. Ho
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Followed the recipe as is. Amazing! And presentation was excellent too! Reminded me of Hotate-Hokkaiyaki from Japanese restaurants. Think next time I will add fish roe to give it the crunchiness of Hotate-Hokkaiyaki. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Ho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Wow. Just Wow. Like someone said, I didn't have access to Japanesse Mayo. So I used hellmans mayo, chili sauce, and Tuong ot sriracha. Teaspoon of chili sauce and the sriracha to your liking. I ended up using two teaspoons. Made the recepie as it says. Served it over parmesan linquini with spinach. I actually ended up mixing the linquini with the remainder of the sauce that I made and my oh my that was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is a sloppy and poorly put together dish. Ingredients have potential but the flavor is overwhelmed by the mayo plus it's missing something..... Im not going to eat this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This meal was AWESOME! It is also very filling!! I couldn't find japanese mayo anywhere so I got regular mayo and added rice vinigar and sugar and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah3021

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hueytown, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
THese were amazing. I am not great with overly rich foods and the sauce was def rich but the flavo was very good, will make again for my hubby for special occasions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle C :)

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States