Scallop Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This was so delicious - will definitely make again. To the scallops I added a can of baby clams as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanya919

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Like many other reviews, I used butter instead of margarine. I also added more garlic (6 cloves instead of 3). I added the cheese as directed, and I certainly WILL NOT do this next time I make this recipe. The cheese melted pretty quickly and wound up turning very clumpy in the sauce. In the end it didn't make much of a difference in terms of flavor, but it definitely made the sauce difficult to work with while cooking. In cooking the scallops, I didn't rapidly boil them as it says in the recipe. I didn't want them to overcook and become tough, so I just sauted them in the sauce for a couple of minutes and let them finish cooking on low heat (when adding the parsley). I also wouldn't add the parsley until the very last moment before serving. I included some mushrooms in the saute of garlic and onion, and that added a great dimension of flavor to the sauce! Overall, a great base recipe that you can definitely tweak for different variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fritolay0517

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Instead of margarine I used butter, other than that I followed the recipe and we loved it. My 9 year old son even loved it. Next time I will try adding shrimp with the scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I loved the quality of this recipe. I used all 4T of real butter, plus 2T olive oil, added shallots and sliced mushrooms to the onion with extra garlic. I cut the broth back to one cup and added a full cup of white wine and boiled to reduce. Then I added the scallops, stirring to coat with all the sauce. Remove from heat, then add the cheese, and the cooked pasta on top. Invert into a serving dish and put the parsley on top. Excellent dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was great! Only changed a few things. I can't eat onion in that amount, so used about a tablespoon of dried onion for taste. Added red pepper flakes for a little heat and substituted parmesan for the romano cheese. I also served over whole wheat penne pasta and it was great! Even better the next day when the pasta had soaked overnight in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This recipe was delicious. I used shrimp instead of scallops, and added minced red pepper to the onions and garlic. I didn't have any parsley, so went without. Best thing I've eaten in awhile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellieq123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I followed the recipe except for using olive oil in place of margarine. I didn't like it. It tasted like fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancy A
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
We loved this recipe. I used a combo of scallops and shrimp. I also topped it off with quite a bit of parsley just because we like it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy A

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Mine didn't turn out well. The margarine is a weird ingredient to use and the sauce was too runny and the scallops were too chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Restaurant-Style Chicken Scampi

See how to make a quick and creamy chicken pasta that's a twist on shrimp scampi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States