Scallop Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I have tried other scampi recipes on this website, but this one is hands down the best. I didn't have fresh parsley, so I used 2 tsp. of dried. I omitted the onion, simply because I thought a large onion would overpower the garlic flavor, which I like better in scampi. I doubled the sauce like other reviewers suggested, because as is, it is not even enough for 4. I used langostinos (tiny lobster tails) instead of scallops too, and served this with a lemon wedge, extra romano cheese and semolina italian bread to mop up the wonderful sauce. Everyone raved about it and went back for seconds. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Excellent pasta! I cut back the butter to about 3 T and that was fine. Also added the scallops at the very end, after a previous reviewers suggestion not to boil the scallops. The scallops turned out tender and delicious! We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Loved this recipe. I added some sauteed broccoli to the mixture near the end and it was delicious! Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clinton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Excellent recipe! Very easy to make. My kids (6 and 2) love this and my husband likes it too. My husband is the one who likes scallops and I'm not quite sure how to cook them. I followed one reviewer's advice and cook the scallops with garlic and onions and then set them aside while cooking the sauce. And then put the scallops back in the sauce. I used 1 lb bay scallops and 1/2 lbs shrimps. This turn out very soupy, no shortage of sauce here! I thickened the sauce a little with flour and water mixture. I served this with angel hair pasta. I re-heated the sauce (with the scallops already mixed in) a few times because we eat at different times. The scallops did not turn rubbery or hard, they remained succulent and beautifully tender. Very good! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
My only complaint is that the sauce is pretty runny and doesn't stick real well to the pasta, but it tasted really good. Great lighter tasting pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Pretty darn good. I reduced the sauce and added some cream at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
This is a winner. My daughter was tentative, took one bite, and said "this is my new favorite dinner!" I used shrimp and lobster and it was fantastic. I went heavy on the garlic but it wasn't overpowering since all the ingredients blend so well together. Next time I'll double the sauce, it's that good and we don't have any leftovers even though it was just me, and my 11 and 9 year-olds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dpattyo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I've never made anything like this before, but it turned out amazing! raving reviews from my hubby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Delic. Reduce all the sauce then cook the scallops for 4 minutes. Add cheese last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Awesome! I doubled the recipe but thought that doubling the wine made it a little to sweet, so next time I'll cut back on that. I also added shrimp, mushrooms, chili flakes and doubled the garlic. This recipe was fantastic and my husband raved about it. It felt like we were in a fancy italian restaurant. The only set back would be that with the scallops it's a fairly expensive dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Chicken Scampi

See how to make a quick and creamy chicken pasta that's a twist on shrimp scampi.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States