Sawmill Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Simple! That's how a breakfast gravy should be! I was a bad boy and used all of the cooked off fat to make a huge batch of gravy, which did work out very well because I am a dyed- deep biscuits and gravy fan. The smoothness of this gravy made eating a pleasure- even without "corn mill". Thank you, LLoyd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Good recipe, the sausage gravy ratio is off, though. Either double the gravy or half the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Fell in love with Sawmill gravy when the family stop for breakfast at the Cracker Barrel heading through the states for vacation! This was a good gravy but no where near the same. The next visit to the Cracker I asked about the gravy and the wonderful server said Sawmill Gravy is made with Cornmeal. This was still a good gravy, but found it too heavy for my morning but great for my porkchops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLoo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
4 out of 5 only because I didn't use pork. I started with butter and cooked some chopped mushrooms and onion, then followed recipe for gravy. I've always had trouble getting my white gravy to the right thickness. Even without the pork, it totally hit the spot over some egg on fresh biscuits. I also used more pepper, but that's personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stef Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
My boyfriend loved this gravy! Goes perfectly with biscuits and fried eggs for a hearty splurge of a breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Not too bad. I left out the salt cause I always season to taste and I found it salty enough. When my dad had it he said it was like the gravy that was served in a few of the work camps in the 30's. He said it was tasty stick to your ribs good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was a very good recipe, even though I didn't have green onions for it. I just substituted regular onion. And then served on a plate of grits, ground beef, and eggs. Soooo Gooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Thomas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Taber, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
You can't go wrong with pork fat. Pay attention, and a secret my Grandma taught me. When it bubbles as big as hog eyes, its done (not to thick,not to thin)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Rice
Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
What you have is a Sausage Gravy, not a Sawmill Gravy. What makes it Sawmill Gravy is CORNMILL. you add cornmill to give it a gritty taste like saw dust. Thats why itd called Sawmill Gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tamara Revis
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
i just made this gravy along with some biscuits and it was absolutly wonderful. The only adjustment i made was to cut the amount of sausage in half. 5 stars for this very very good sausage gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gray Court, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States