Sawdust Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
It says in the ingredients list that it calls for 2c boiling water. I made it for a family get together and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
A wonderfully refreshing dessert! Very different and highly recommended if you are a fan of gelatin salad type dishes. Everyone who tasted it gave it top marks and wanted the recipe! Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
My grandmother used to make this when I was younger and I have been making it the last few years at Thanksgiving. I do have some modifications though. I use cherry and orange jello for the bottom and instead of using the marshmallows in the jello portion I melt them into the custard part. My family also uses shredded cheddar cheese on top. The first year I made it some people balked at the cheese on top (Cheese and Jello?YUCK!)but after eating it they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
We made this for Thanksgiving, tripled the recipe and served 34 people. The best!! Several relatives told us it was their favorite item on the table... we will definitely be making this again!! We made it again for the 4th of July, slightly modified- we used 2 packages blue raspberry jello in place of the orange and lemon jellos for the bottom layer, and added a layer of cherry jello over the custard. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Thank you so much for posting this recipe! I love this stuff! It also tastes good with a little bit of sprinkled shredded cheddar cheese on top (orange kind). Weird, I know, but totally yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goodie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
this is simply a wonderful recipe. my ma used to make this every year. thanks for the recipe, and to whoever suggested the cheese instead of coconut is a genius. this is the same way she made it except with sharp cheddar. everyone should try with this variation. it is delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rickman, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I made this salad for a church potluck and evryone absolutly love it.I have tried it a couple times,once using name brand Jello, and once using store brand.you would't think it would make a difference but using named brand jello is so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Paris, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This recipe was a hit at the family reunion. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valdese, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Very, Very good!! I made this for Thanksgiving and it was loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Good. I use the juice reserved from draining the crushed pineapple and top off with shredded cheddar cheese instead of coconut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POOT72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jerseyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States