Savory Zucchini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
These muffins are wonderful - a bit time consuming but worth it. I cut the recipe in half (as there were only two of us eating) and got 9 muffins. Wish I would have made the whole batch because I bet they would freeze well. After cooking the onion and garlic, I threw the zucchini (and a little shredded carrot) into the pan for a couple of minutes to soften and then transferred to a strainer to cool. Did not pulse veggies in a food processor as the bits were already small. Mixed everything else as directed. I was tempted to add more moisture as the batter seemed a bit stiff but I didn't, and they turned out wonderful. These would be great with soup or chili. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
It was lucky these were as yummy as they were after all the prep and washing up they create...! I love that they can be altered without too much trouble. I did according to the recipe this time but next time I am going to add some crumbled feta and wont blitz the veges as I like 'finding' pieces of the veges as I eat. I got 12 regular size and 20 mini muffins from the mix. Cooked the mini for 13 mins and the large for 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Milky
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
this is a really good recipe. Muffins are tasty, moist and fragrant. I strictly followed the recipe except for the red peppers I can't eat; I substituted them with about 70 grams of minced speck, a typical italian smoked prosciutto. as others suggested I mixed the parmigiano cheese into the batter. I'll do these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Can't stop eating these. I was pressed for time so didn't saute the garlic and onions, reduced the onion to 1/4 cup finely chopped and mixed in with the zucchini, also mixed the parmesan cheese in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Certainly a 5* - takes more time but worth every bit of the effort. Didn't change anything except to substitute yogurt for sour cream bcos I didn't have any. Made it for church brunch & everyone was surprised at how tasty it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
These muffins lived up to all the rave reviews. My only change was to use a little yellow squash for some of the zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This recipe produces a wonderfully delightful muffin! I must say, it is very time consuming, and took me way more than the 25 minute prep time indicated. But if you do have the time, these are well worth it. I made 1/2 a batch and now wished I made the whole thing. Mine came out perfectly beautiful after 32 minutes. I'll definitely make these again and might try making them in stages. I think I'd prep the zucchini mixture a day ahead, cover and refrigerate it. And the dry ingredients could easily be combined a day ahead. This is a wonderful recipe, so do give it a try. Just plan ahead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Good but....... They lacked zip, so with the roasted red peppers, etc in the food processor we added one seedless and deveined jalapeno pepper, another 1/2-1 tsp salt, a handful of parmesan cheese and replaced 1/2 c all purpose flour with 1/2 c nutritional yeast (not brewers or quick rise yeast) (available at most health food stores). Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
These are really good! I substituted the whole wheat flour with an equal amount of all-purpose as I never have the latter on hand. Worked fine! I realize the Parmesan topping is optional, but went for it. It gets way too brown for our liking. I will omit it next time or try another cheese mixed into the batter. This would be great with olives and feta too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
If you're looking to impress, this recipe's for you. As these baked, the kitchen smelled like a true Italian Bistro. The ingredients list is long and it takes a little more time to put together, but well worth the effort. The muffins turned out moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Savory Zucchini Chard Muffins

These Savory Zucchini and Chard Muffins are just right for brunch or lunch.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States