Savory Venison Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
I have never made anything with venison and I decided to make this meatloaf because a friend gave me a pound of fresh venison along with a pound of fresh ground beef, I used half a pound of venison and half a pound of ground beef and instead of the BBQ sauce called for I used Sweet Baby Rays Vidalia Onion along with 1 tablespoon of Honey (when it came to topping it with 3/4 cup of BBQ sauce I used 1 1/2 tablespoons of honey with the BBQ sauce no substitute on brown sugar) and it is absolutely fabulous! Thank you so much for this recipe! My reason for the substitution was because I already had this BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by mamacookie
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Oh my goodness. This is the venison meatloaf I have been searching for. It is so delicious as is, but tonight I decided to kick it up a notch with some chopped fresh jalapeno pepper. Next time, I think I'll put in a few drops of Tabasco sauce but again it is delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Great meal, 2nds for everyone. Followed the recipe exactly, but cook time for me was 60 min+. Poured the sauce on sliced pieces. A fantastic meal with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This recipe is just great. I have made this meatloaf about 4 times now using this recipe. The good thing is that I have found you can't really mess it up. Sometimes I throw in some different spices/sauces, sometimes I make it as is. Last time I doubled the recipe and instead of using crackers/spices I just threw in a box of cornbread stuffing mix. My family said it was the best they ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I love this recipe! I didn't have any bacon, and added a little more brown sugar to the sauce and loaf and really enjoyed this recipe. I've made it several times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Great flavor and moistness. No gamey flavor thst my family doesn't like. Key though is high quality bbq sauce or homemade. Don't skimp using poor quality sauce. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LVPERRY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Our favorite meatloaf. We like adjusting the flavor a little each time we make it by changing up bbq sauces and types of bacon. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Quick and easy. Great recipe for friends that say they don't like venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Fantastic! I have made this 5 times now and every time I get positive feedback from anyone that tries it. The only changes I made were oatmeal instead of crackers and I doubled the recipe. I also have never made the extra sauce for on top. It is so incredibly moist even without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I had never cooked with venison before and was a little nervous, but this recipe turned out great! My husband said it was the best he had ever tasted. I did add 1/2 lb of 90% ground beef to the venison as well, and did 1/2 BBQ sauce and 1/2 ketchup wherever it called for BBQ sauce, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Mine seemed to take longer to cook- about 45 min or an hour, then 5 min on broil to crisp up the bacon, but that could be because I'm at high altitude. Give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Stuvel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Buttermilk Meatloaf

Discover what a touch of buttermilk can do for your meatloaf.

Chef John's Bacon-Wrapped Buffalo Meatloaf

Meatloaf made from ground buffalo and vegetables, wrapped in bacon.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States