Savory Venison Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Made this meatloaf last night after having made the same recipe for years (20+ actually) and I think we have found our new favorite meatloaf recipe! I substituted store-bought bbq sauce for some home made that I whipped together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This is such an amazing recipe for a venison meatloaf. My husband has asked me to make it multiple times...the flavor is just so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This will go in my favorites file! I didn't use the bacon as that counters some of the major health benefits of eating venison and it was still very moist and flavorful without the noticeable difference in texture that we often find with ground venison. I would have never guessed that it was anything other than beef and it was more tender and moist than my usual beef meatloaf recipe! I used a spicy steak seasoning and a spicy BBQ sauce. It was delicious but I will experiment with a homemade or purchased BBQ sauce that is lower in sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This recipe has great flavor and the sauce is magnificent! We cooked it with the sauce on it, adding only one 4 oz. packet of whole wheat crackers, and used a small bit of onion salt instead of the whole onion. FIVE STARS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Benton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Haviland, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
My family loved this. My 9-year old son said it was the best meatloaf ever. I did add a little bit of garlic seasoning, but that was the only thing I changed. I couldn't taste the venison AT ALL!! Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I am an avid deer hunter and the recipe by itself is amazing. But like all recipes there is absolutely nothing wrong with tweaking a bit. I follow the recipe with a few adjustments and additions. Again this is just my take but everyone raves aboit it. 1 tsp of sage instead of 1/2, 1 medium to large white onion instead of 1/2 a yellow onion, 2 garlic cloves finely chopped, 1 cup of shredded cheese (I use Mexican four blend), and HEB Speciality Series Texas BBQ sauce (gotta have that Texas kick). I then top it with 4 thick slices of maple bacon. Try it out. You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Great Venison Meatloaf! My husband is a deer hunter and we Loved this recipe. I followed all the ingredients and baked it about 10 min longer as I was concerned about the short 35 min suggested. It looked beautiful on a platter with the delicious poured over sauce. Served with wild rice, corn, salad, and french wheat bread. 5 STARS. ArLene
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Such a great low-carb meal! I followed one suggestion to cut back on the stuffing and added a few dashes of Worcestershire to the top with smoky BBQ sauce. The crust on the outside was so good. My hubby said this meatloaf is better than his mother's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
It took twice as long in the oven but it is delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I substituted honey and blackstrap molessess for brown sugar in the sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Buttermilk Meatloaf

Discover what a touch of buttermilk can do for your meatloaf.

Chef John's Bacon-Wrapped Buffalo Meatloaf

Meatloaf made from ground buffalo and vegetables, wrapped in bacon.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States