Savory Venison Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Made this meatloaf last night after having made the same recipe for years (20+ actually) and I think we have found our new favorite meatloaf recipe! I substituted store-bought bbq sauce for some home made that I whipped together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This is such an amazing recipe for a venison meatloaf. My husband has asked me to make it multiple times...the flavor is just so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This recipe has great flavor and the sauce is magnificent! We cooked it with the sauce on it, adding only one 4 oz. packet of whole wheat crackers, and used a small bit of onion salt instead of the whole onion. FIVE STARS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Benton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Haviland, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This will go in my favorites file! I didn't use the bacon as that counters some of the major health benefits of eating venison and it was still very moist and flavorful without the noticeable difference in texture that we often find with ground venison. I would have never guessed that it was anything other than beef and it was more tender and moist than my usual beef meatloaf recipe! I used a spicy steak seasoning and a spicy BBQ sauce. It was delicious but I will experiment with a homemade or purchased BBQ sauce that is lower in sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
My family loved this. My 9-year old son said it was the best meatloaf ever. I did add a little bit of garlic seasoning, but that was the only thing I changed. I couldn't taste the venison AT ALL!! Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Great Venison Meatloaf! My husband is a deer hunter and we Loved this recipe. I followed all the ingredients and baked it about 10 min longer as I was concerned about the short 35 min suggested. It looked beautiful on a platter with the delicious poured over sauce. Served with wild rice, corn, salad, and french wheat bread. 5 STARS. ArLene
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
My family loved it! I used ground elk that we had on hand. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Best meatloaf I have ever had hands down! I hated meatloaf when I was growing up and always doused it in ketchup but this was GREAT!! I couldn't believe that the recipe made the venison so moist and delicious! I am happy I have found a new way to use venison now rather than just Hamburger Helper and Spaghetti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicorynut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I made this with elk burger that was cut with bacon fat so I left the bacon out. I got rave reviews. I made it again tonight with cow burger and added the bacon. Again rave reviews. This is an all time family favorite now. My poor Mother in Law has to retire her meat loaf recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised by the flavor of this meatloaf. My finicky eaters enjoyed it. They ate large helpings. My less finicky eater went back for seconds and thirds "because its just that good." I made it pretty much as printed except for crushed Triscuit (cause that's what was on hand) and I had bacon grease from the morning, so added that for moisture, although I don't think I would have needed it. The sauce was alittle spicy for some but a great way to use the ground venison we usually struggle to find a use for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Buttermilk Meatloaf

Discover what a touch of buttermilk can do for your meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States