Savory Venison Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This was exceptional meatloaf! I doubled the meat and ingredients for family size. (1 lb venison & 1 lb. pork sausage). Used applewood bacon and omitted the sage. I figured the sausage probably had it in it. Really good venison recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I used this recipe to make meatloaf with moose meat. It was great! Changes I made: Instead of the saltine crackers, I used about a 1/2 cup of store brand bread crumbs. And instead of laying bacon over the top of the meatloaf, I half-cooked two strips of bacon, chopped them up, and mixed them in with the meatloaf. I think I ended up baking it about 50 minutes total... Not sure why...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Amazingly delicious. Better than beef meatloaf. Used triscuits, cause that's what I had on hand. Pretty much made it as described and the boys went back for seconds and thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Such a great low-carb meal! I followed one suggestion to cut back on the stuffing and added a few dashes of Worcestershire to the top with smoky BBQ sauce. The crust on the outside was so good. My hubby said this meatloaf is better than his mother's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I am an avid deer hunter and the recipe by itself is amazing. But like all recipes there is absolutely nothing wrong with tweaking a bit. I follow the recipe with a few adjustments and additions. Again this is just my take but everyone raves aboit it. 1 tsp of sage instead of 1/2, 1 medium to large white onion instead of 1/2 a yellow onion, 2 garlic cloves finely chopped, 1 cup of shredded cheese (I use Mexican four blend), and HEB Speciality Series Texas BBQ sauce (gotta have that Texas kick). I then top it with 4 thick slices of maple bacon. Try it out. You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I substituted honey and blackstrap molessess for brown sugar in the sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This was excellent! The only change I made was add a handful of ground pork to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised by the flavor of this meatloaf. My finicky eaters enjoyed it. They ate large helpings. My less finicky eater went back for seconds and thirds "because its just that good." I made it pretty much as printed except for crushed Triscuit (cause that's what was on hand) and I had bacon grease from the morning, so added that for moisture, although I don't think I would have needed it. The sauce was alittle spicy for some but a great way to use the ground venison we usually struggle to find a use for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I made this with elk burger that was cut with bacon fat so I left the bacon out. I got rave reviews. I made it again tonight with cow burger and added the bacon. Again rave reviews. This is an all time family favorite now. My poor Mother in Law has to retire her meat loaf recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Best meatloaf I have ever had hands down! I hated meatloaf when I was growing up and always doused it in ketchup but this was GREAT!! I couldn't believe that the recipe made the venison so moist and delicious! I am happy I have found a new way to use venison now rather than just Hamburger Helper and Spaghetti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicorynut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Buttermilk Meatloaf

Discover what a touch of buttermilk can do for your meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States