Savory Vegetable Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe that doesn't require 8 hours in a slow cooker. I eliminated the teaspoon of salt (there's already a lot of sodium in the beef broth and bouillon), but doubled the amount of oregano and pepper called for, in addition to adding 1/2 t. of red pepper flakes, as we tend to like our dishes just a little spicier. I also added 3 chopped celery stalks and 8 oz of sliced mushrooms when it came time to add the vegetables. Lastly, I substituted 2 T. cornstarch in 1/3 cup hot water for the thickening agent instead of the all-purpose flour. It turned out delicious and was even better the 2nd day! This recipe is definitely added to my box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michellej
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I actually first saw this recipe in a Taste of Home magazine while standing in line at the store. I almost bought the $9.99 recipe book, but came on here to see if the recipe might be here and da..da! I will always double check recipes on here before buying magazines! The recipe is very good. I made one change though I added my flour to my meat before browning. I find that it is a tastier way of thicking up stew. If you add the flour at the end it has a raw flour taste in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellej
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Ok! This is by far! the best beef stew recipe in the world! :) I have made it 8 times now. People just can not get enough of it. Personally I use a little more stock and a little more beef and I have become partial to adding some celery but other than that this is perfect. You can add corn, peas, etc if you wish but on it's own this is great! We have gotten to the point where we use 3 cans of canned potatoes and 2 cans of baby carrots because it saves time. This is by far my most favorite recipe found on the site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tamara
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This was a fantastic base recipe! I swapped out a bunch though; I left out the Italian dressing, instead I browned the beef in a little oil after coating it with stew seasoning and flour. Then I put it in the crock pot and I threw in one beef bullion cube and used the 'garlic and onion' flavored diced tomatoes and added the rest according to the recipe, although I cut the onion and bell pepper down- 1/2 of each. When it was time, I cut up the potatoes and tossed them in a Ziploc bag with some Italian seasoning, Everglades, Old Bay, black pepper and garlic powder, and used baby carrots instead of regular ones. I served it with hunks of fresh baked bread and everyone loved it- there wasn't a bit left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Really Great Stew. Just what I was looking for. I cut the recipe in half.. but left the canned broth, tomatoes and tomato sauce qty alone. Also left out the green pprs and added canned corn and green beans instead. Wonderful flavor. I will be keeping this recipe for future use. Thanks! (I happened to have diced Fire roasted tomatoes on hand so that is what I used)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This was good, but not excellent. I don't think I will do the flour/water mixture at the end if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This turned out really well, did seem more like a very hearty soup tho than a stew. I actually made it up the day ahead of time to have ready for a dinner party and I got many compliments on it! I used a red pepper instead of the green since that's what I had on hand, added 3 stalks of celery and a small amount of corn and served it with corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This stew is very tasty! I was a little put off by the aroma of the beef cooking in the dressing, but once it was all mixed together the flavor was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I liked this, but I wouldn't use the flour mixture in the end. I loved it before I made the yeast mixture, and definitely would love it without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
This is good, but was missing the "bang" I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States