Savory Vegetable Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Delicious. I couldn't find canned beef concentrate so I bought the new packets from Swanson and they worked great. I also used pork stew meat because I had some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I floured the beef before browning them. (Never heard of doing that in italian dressing before, good idea!) I dumped everything in the crockpot at 10am, at 1pm I put potatoes in and at 2 before I left for work I did the flour. My family loved it! Even my picky son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Amazing! Best stew I have ever had, looked at some reviews and made just a few changes, doubled oregano and pepper, added celery, and added 1 tsp red pepper flakes. Best stew ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedalia, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
made this and loved it as did my husband and my kids. I made minor changes such as adding mushrooms and celery, no-salt beef broth instead of water and granules and ground (no-salt) tomatoes instead of tomatoe sauce and omitted the salt (I have a sodium reduced diet). For making this with no salt products it was amazing and it had ton of flavour. I am making this again tomorrow for my in-laws!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpsmom
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Loved it. My whole family of 4 did. Kids are 10 and 7. Served with corn bread. Easy to make. Will totally make it again. Great as leftovers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I just used this recipe for the first time. I didn`t have all the ingredients handy so I grabbed a bag of frozen veggies (Thai mix) and used those. It was great cause it added broccoli, red pepper and spinach to the stew. Did have potatoes and onions so those went in as well. My husband and 4 boys loved it. It was first time making beef stew and it looks like I will be making it more often this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ludwigsix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I skipped the Italian dressing, and the boyfriend wouldn't answer about wanting tomatoes in it, so I didn't add them. Also, added the flour to the beef when I was browning it. The boyfriend didn't understand my need to buy spices (he's a typical bachelor, until recently), but after this dish he understood how important all those things are. He loved this and wants me to make it again.... Soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Great recipe. Made it just as the recipe said . Turned out YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Abingdon, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Good starter recipe. Took into account some of the reviews and made my own modifications -- and it was one of the best short-cook stews I've had. Here's what I did: * Took the first review and substituted the 2T cornstarch - though I added an additional 1/2T and a little more water. * Added quartered fresh mushrooms (in the veggie time) * Added fingerling potatoes instead of the "small quartered potatoes" * Added 1 medium parsnip, trimmed and chopped into 1/2" cubes * Rather than the canned tomatoes, I used Pomi Chopped Tomatoes - the full 26.46 oz box. * Rather than the can of tomato sauce, I added 1/2 box of Pomi Strained Tomatoes. * I added approx. 2 cups of an inexpensive Cabernet Sauv. * 4 sprigs thyme (remove the stem, of course) * 2 teaspoons or so of tomato paste * 1 tablespoon or so of garlic paste * Lastly, one whole serrano pepper - chopped small. Because of the additional veggies, it took a little longer to cook them soft. Use your judgement - it took about an hour or 1.5 hours after adding the meat, but was really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick Simonton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
You can start this recipe right around the time the ole guy is sending out signals that he might be in the mood. You get most of it made before he gets serious and makes the first move. Then it can cook for a while and by the time you guys are finished, you have a wonderful , delicious meal. Add a glass of rosé, a biscuit or french roll, and a view, and even if you're a senior, you've got a deal, baby. It's a delicious, savory dinner. And so very easy to make. You can't mess it up. Even if you've had a glass of wine. Or two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States