Savory Vegetable Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Excellent stew! I did everything as listed except added some celery (because I had it on hand) and didn't thicken the stew with the flour. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUSTICHOME

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dowagiac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HKR
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I have made this several times. The first time I made it almost as directed. The second time instead of condensed beef broth, I used the equivelant of water and Better Than Bouillon brand Beef Base (wet bouillon that comes in a jar). The stew is excellent and freezes well. I just made another batch last weekend and used chicken and Better Than Bouillon Chicken Base. I have never made a chicken stew before and it was also a keeper as far as recipes go. This is a great recipe to modify based on what you might have on hand in the fridge. You can even substitute some wine for a portion of the water for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HKR

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
very delicious, good with corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vince Cady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lennox, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Great recipe that even my kids enjoyed! My family doesn't enjoy cooked green pepper so I replaced the it with celery. Also added some rutabaga I had in the fridge. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This is a very good base recipe for beef stew. You can change it up to suit your taste. I used beef stock instead of bouillon and water and upped the garlic to two cloves. I swapped out the regular potatoes for sweet potatoes and the green pepper for an orange pepper just because that is what I had on hand. I used a whole large onion because I love the flavor it adds. And instead of browning the meat in Italian dressing, I used a balsamic vinaigrette. This stew has such a rich, deep flavor. I added it to my recipe box and plan to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PERKY2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Yummy! This is a great recipe. It is simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Needs additional water to top off the vegetables/potatoes. Nearly all of the water evaporates in the first hour and a half using the amount specified in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I made this with boneless chicken and chicken broth and bouillon. I added fresh string beans to the recipe and a touch of crushed red pepper. I browned the chicken in the frying pan, but then made the dish in the slow cooker. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I can only give four stars since I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I think the tomato woulkd be a bit too overpowering if done as written. I cut down on the tomato sauce and diced tomatoes and added red wine instead. I added lots of other veggies too. Instead of using flour, I thickened it up at the end with a corn starch slurry. Also, mine needed to be cooked longer after adding the veggies. The carrots didn't soften enough in the time alotted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was by far one of the best beef stews I've ever had. It turned out amazing and I will be making again. Only changes I made were (1) I added the onions while I was browning the meat instead of later with the rest of the veggies (I like my onions to cook down to pratically nothing but flavor), and (2) I couldn't find a large can of condensed beef broth at my store. I was only able to find little 1 ounce cups of condensed stock. So I used 4 of those. Which is a lot less than the recipie calls for but my stew still turned out amazing! Thanks for the recipe! It's one of my family favorites now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States