Savory Vegetable Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This was a big hit. Used celery instead of green pepper (personal preference) - will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
The stew turned out really well and was easy to make. I didn't add the flour water mixture at the end as I was afraid that it would impact the flavor negatively. I also added some extra vegatables, but I was very pleased with how the stew turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This IS one of the best Beef Stew recipes I have found! Although it is a tad bit away from the deep BEEFY flavor in beef stews I have tried, this explodes with flavor! I did change it a bit from reading past reviews. I added 2 crushed cloves of garlic, I took HALF the beef chunks and rolled them in flour & browned them a bit (simply because I did not want to be pulling flour dough balls out at the end, so I did NOT add the flour mixture at the end!) & then took the other HALF of the beef & browned it in the Italian dressing! It thickened wonderful & like I said the flavor was SPECTACULAR! Will make this again over & over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Byron, New York, USA
Living In: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This was a fabulous stew! few things I changed, I added in a chili pepper finely chopped for some spice, as well as adding zucchini and celery to the medley and YUM it's good!! Also, I didn't need to use any flour as I read some of the complaints so I just let it simmer uncovered for about an hour and it thickened up just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuriouslyChaotic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This was delicious and super easy. I sprinkled the flour over the meat as it browned instead of mixing it with the water. I bought some crusty bread, topped the stew with parmesan and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This is the best stew I have ever tasted. My teenage son made it and it came out delicious! He omitted the Italian dressing, but for everything else, he followed the recipe. He said next time he may use celery instead of green pepper. I like the green pepper though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This stew was absolutely delicious. We all could not get enough, even the kids were begging for leftovers the next day. I ended up using balsamic vinaigrette dressing because that was all I had; I omitted the green pepper and ended up adding another cup of water and a few Tbsp of dressing. Don't add the water/flour mixture at the end. I ended up fishing out flour balls. I replaced with a water/cornstarch mixture -- the end result was wonderful. We added bisquick dumplings to top it off - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Tonight was the first time that I made this dish, and it was really good. I substituted a glass cooking dish in the oven for the dutch oven. Cooked the meat and Italian dressing together at 455 Degrees for 15 Min, and put the 10 ingredients in a pot on the stove . once the meat was brown I transferred the meat into the pot on the stove.... it worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
this is a great recipe!! i made a few changes: - didnt use italian dressing - used flour to brown the meat - added extra veggies - peas, celery, used red peppers instead of green - used 3 TBs cornstarch mixed with 1/3 cup water at the end hubby loved it! made a huge batch an reheated it the next day, tasted even better! serve with crusty bread !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This is my absolute favorite beef stew recipe. It is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States