Savory Vegetable Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Perfect beef stew!! I made several simple changes that makes a huge difference. Cooked in crockpot on high for 3 1/2 or 4 hrs. Omit 1/3 cup Italian salad dressing. Brown meat in 2 TBLS of oil and season meat with seasoning salt. Add the meat with its remaining oil and juices into crockpot. ADD 1/2 TBLS of dry italian salad dressing mix to the other ingredients in the crockpot. 2 large cloves of garlic instead of 1. Instead of 6 small potatoes I added 3/4 bag or 24 oz of a 32 oz bag of frozen hash brown potatoes at the end of cooking when meat was tender. Continue to leave crockpot on High to cook potatoes, probably another 15 min. Finally, I mixed 2 TBLS of flour with 2 TBLS of cold water. The first time I made this recipe I added 3 TBLS but it was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
FANTASTIC!! This is the BEST beef stew. I double the potatoes, great with warm bread on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
this was great no changes whatsoever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Very good. I put a small spin on it tho. I used venison instead of beef and it turn out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Wonderful! It turned out nice and spicy because I put a lot of black pepper in it.. I will make this often! While making this recipe, I learned how to combine a tomato and beef base, as well as how to thicken a base with flour and water. I added another bay leaf, and the flavors ended up being delicious, although spicy and sinus clearing... probably due to my putting a little too much black pepper in everything... I regret not having a green pepper on hand to add to this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candleraymond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rockbridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
My favorite beef stew recipe! My son will eat several bowls of this! Only thing different that I do is leave out the italian dressing and the salt. Comfort food!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I have used this recipe for 4 years now. It is the best! Everyone loves the tomato base that is not too strong. I am constantly asked for the recipe. Follow it to a T, or do as I do with these changes: -replace the bell pepper with 2-3 stalks celery, sliced -replace the water/bouillon with beef broth That's it! This recipe is divine. The long cook time is the secret to the tenderness of the meat and the savory flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is a delicious stew! The flavor was very robust but not overpowering. I will definitely be adding it to our winter rotation of foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennpophoo
Home Town: Endicott, New York, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This has been my go-to stew recipe for several years. The gravy has a little more kick to it than a traditional beef stew gravy due to the tomatoes and oregano. I omit the green pepper and substitute a cup of peas at the end of the cooking time and let the stew simmer another 5 minutes. I've also substituted tomato paste and some red wine for the tomato sauce with excellent results! Try this recipe - you won't be sorry. Serve with some delicious rolls or bread and add a little more liquid to the pot if you're family enjoys sopping up lots of gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by king james
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Didn't change anything. Flavorful and hearty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States