Savory Vegetable Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CindyLepp
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Very easy, all ingredients you have in your pantry tho it LOOKS like a long list. This is a tomato based beef stew as opposed to a beef gravy stew. Very tasty......would also be good over rice, pasta or noodles. Try this! Could also easily be done in a crockpot, I think. Easily reduce-able too....I made a recipe for 4 and still have a full pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
this was great no changes whatsoever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
My favorite beef stew recipe! My son will eat several bowls of this! Only thing different that I do is leave out the italian dressing and the salt. Comfort food!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
this recipe was bad.Did not like at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancing_earth77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Perfect beef stew!! I made several simple changes that makes a huge difference. Cooked in crockpot on high for 3 1/2 or 4 hrs. Omit 1/3 cup Italian salad dressing. Brown meat in 2 TBLS of oil and season meat with seasoning salt. Add the meat with its remaining oil and juices into crockpot. ADD 1/2 TBLS of dry italian salad dressing mix to the other ingredients in the crockpot. 2 large cloves of garlic instead of 1. Instead of 6 small potatoes I added 3/4 bag or 24 oz of a 32 oz bag of frozen hash brown potatoes at the end of cooking when meat was tender. Continue to leave crockpot on High to cook potatoes, probably another 15 min. Finally, I mixed 2 TBLS of flour with 2 TBLS of cold water. The first time I made this recipe I added 3 TBLS but it was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
FANTASTIC!! This is the BEST beef stew. I double the potatoes, great with warm bread on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I have used this recipe for 4 years now. It is the best! Everyone loves the tomato base that is not too strong. I am constantly asked for the recipe. Follow it to a T, or do as I do with these changes: -replace the bell pepper with 2-3 stalks celery, sliced -replace the water/bouillon with beef broth That's it! This recipe is divine. The long cook time is the secret to the tenderness of the meat and the savory flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Very good. I put a small spin on it tho. I used venison instead of beef and it turn out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is a delicious stew! The flavor was very robust but not overpowering. I will definitely be adding it to our winter rotation of foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennpophoo
Home Town: Endicott, New York, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
No changes, I make it just as the recipe calls for. This is a favorite with 2/3 kids at our house. My littlest calls it 'Merida Stew' since we like to eat it with crusty bread, by candlelight, and pretend we are in medieval times. Has a great taste and we love it in the winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States