Savory Vegetable Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Best stew I have ever made. No changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Best stew I ever had! Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
My family agreed that this indeed is the best tasting stew we have ever eaten. I followed the suggestion to use celery instead of the green pepper and monkeyed around with the spices very slightly - no bay leaf but used parsley and added some sage. Blessings to you Jaime5025 for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Wonderful! It turned out nice and spicy because I put a lot of black pepper in it.. I will make this often! While making this recipe, I learned how to combine a tomato and beef base, as well as how to thicken a base with flour and water. I added another bay leaf, and the flavors ended up being delicious, although spicy and sinus clearing... probably due to my putting a little too much black pepper in everything... I regret not having a green pepper on hand to add to this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candleraymond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rockbridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by king james
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Didn't change anything. Flavorful and hearty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Great recipe. I make a few adjustments like adding canned green beans and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This has been my go-to stew recipe for several years. The gravy has a little more kick to it than a traditional beef stew gravy due to the tomatoes and oregano. I omit the green pepper and substitute a cup of peas at the end of the cooking time and let the stew simmer another 5 minutes. I've also substituted tomato paste and some red wine for the tomato sauce with excellent results! Try this recipe - you won't be sorry. Serve with some delicious rolls or bread and add a little more liquid to the pot if you're family enjoys sopping up lots of gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
No changes, I make it just as the recipe calls for. This is a favorite with 2/3 kids at our house. My littlest calls it 'Merida Stew' since we like to eat it with crusty bread, by candlelight, and pretend we are in medieval times. Has a great taste and we love it in the winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is a delicious stew! The flavor was very robust but not overpowering. I will definitely be adding it to our winter rotation of foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennpophoo
Home Town: Endicott, New York, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Very good. I put a small spin on it tho. I used venison instead of beef and it turn out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States