Savory Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
a few dashes of hot sauce, add some beef bullion cubes 5 minutes before serving. I do not use frozen veggies, but there would be no reason not to..It is a great winter recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
The tomato taste was overwhelming! Next time I make it, I will skip the V8 and use more beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This was missing something. I think that the V8 was a little overpowering. It seems that this recipe needed a little more meat flavor. I added some Sirachu hot sauce to spice it up when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
The V8 was overwhelming at first, but once the soup simmered for a couple of hours it was delicious. Also, I used canned potatoes and they worked very well. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This soup is really good, but I feel like it's missing a taste....like maybe onion or garlic...I can't quite pinpoint it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedOne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This is a good, easy, hearty soup. I made it pretty much as written, except that I added some cooked egg noodles to the pot right before serving. I only had a 12 oz. bag of mixed veggies, so I added some extra frozen green beans to make up for that. Altogether, this was good, but a a bit salty. Not sure if I'd make it again...but thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This is a great soup we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Great recipe! Turned out just like my mother makes! Warm for the colder weather, but fun to play up with seasonal vegetables all year round. I also added fresh thyme (which requires nearly triple the dry amount) and bay leaves. With additional veggies and by adding more tomato juice, you get a thicker soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Picklicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Way too bland.wWill not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This soup was wonderful! I doubled the recipe and cooked in the pressure cooker for 30 minutes. I used 4 c. V-8 and 2 c. spicy hot V-8. My mixed vegetables were fresh onions, carrots, and celery; as well as the potatoes. I also added 3 bay leaves and some minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States