Savory Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I love this gravy. Nice simple basic recipe. The only thing I do differently (and to be honest may be why I love it so much) is that I use the drippings from the turkey and then supplement with turkey stock or chicken broth to make it 5 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTORYGIRL04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This is the first year I have had lots of turkey drippings, mostly from cooking it breast side down. So I decided to use this recipe. No longer how long we stirred it and boiled it, it never thickened. I added a bit more flour than the recipe stated and used a bit less of the spices. I didn't want to add more flour because I didn't want it to have that floury taste. Unfortunately, I didn't have any cornstarch. The flavor was very good and I will make it again with some changes so it thickens properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bristol, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I followed the recipe to a T. Easy and taste good. I don't want to spend all day fighting with the gravy so it does the job, thus the five star rating. It is not a gourmet recipe but sometimes you just need a quick gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I have used this recipe a few times and being a beginner at making gravy I found it super easy to make. And my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This is a keeper for me. It does need more flour to thicken. It is easy to mak ahead o time ad then reheat. The only thing I do not like about it is the color. Anone have ideas to makethe colore more appetizing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I didn't use 5 cups of stock, only half of that and only 1/2 t of salt. I have had difficulty finding just a gravy recipe on this site, but this was exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This is a good recipe, it was liked by all. Its also a great beginner recipe, once you do it a time or two you figure out how to get the right mix of drippings vs stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I made this for Christmas and everyone loved it. It was so easy to make and came out tasting very yummy. I will be making this again for other Holiday dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Good gravy - still in search of the perfect one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I have finally found the recipe I will use every Thanksgiving. I made it in advance (the morning of). I added some turkey drippings later, upon heating it up. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States