Savory Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I was not super impressed with this recipe. It had a really great taste, but the flour would not spread throughout the gravy. It ended up being really clumpy, no matter what I did to remedy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Was not inmpressed with this gravy despite having made my own turkey stock and added some of the pan drippings. I thought this would really be tasty. The poutry seasoning was much too strong and the gravy would not thicken without adding a lot of corn starch. I'll stick with my old standby next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
When prepared as instructed it was WAY too thin, so I added extra flour but couldn't never get it even throughout the gravy, even after using a blender on high speed. The taste was ok, it just looked really disgusting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I didnt measure the exact drippings, but used the outline of the recipe for my gravy. It was great - will definitely use again. I left out the salt, as I brined my turkey and the drippings were plenty salty. I just used the flour, water,drippings, and poultry seasoning and it worked great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This has a nice flavor but I had to add corn starch to get the gravy to thicken properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMVA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Loved the taste of this when done, however I had a problem with getting it to thicken(not sure where it went wrong), so I wound up adding quite a bit extra flour to it. Will keep and do again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
The seasonings are great! I didn't have turkey stock, so I used chicken broth, and I used pan drippings instead of water (you have to cook the pan drippings and flour first, THEN gradually stir in the broth, somewhat backwards from what this recipe calls for!). 5 cups was a bit much so I only used 3 cups or so. You can always add more broth if you like your gravy thin. The poultry seasoning makes all the difference... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This recipe is very delicious! At first it was too thin like the other users said. But we added more "flour-water" and let it boil a little longer. My whole family was so amazed that I was able to make gravy that wasn't a flop, and not only that but was awesome! Every single person made a comment on how great it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMCLEOD08

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Way too thin. The taste was fine but it was so watery that we didn't enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Everyone at Thanksgiving dinner said this was a very good gravy except that it was too thin...I think that was my fault. I've never been able to make gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States