Savory Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I made this as a back up gravy just in case I screwed up the giblet gravy. Giblet gravy was the star of the Thanksgiving feast. This gravy wasn't even touched. :( I have all of it still and plan to "fix" it by putting some pan drippings to serve with leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Fabulous gravy - I used better then boullion chicken for the stock. All my guests raved. Thanks -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I used Chicken Stock to make chicken gravy rather than turkey. The flavour was nice but it just didn't thicken up and I cooked it for well over 10 mins. Will probably try again when I'm in a more patient mood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I halved this recipe and used chicken stock it was good but not thick enough I would use more flour water to thicken it some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Very Good! Of course I am partial to my grandmother's recipe but she wasn't available. This is a great substitute! Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tualatin, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
i did like others i added a little more flour to get the correct consistancy. i also added a "dash" of mrs. dash instead of salt. this gravy came out very good thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS.D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I was looking for a turkey gravy recipe that did not call for pan drippings - I hate that burnt taste - This gravy was an EXCELLENT choice - It was easy and tasty (though a bit too peppery for me - next time I will not add the full 1/2 tsp - I'll start with 1/8 tsp and work my way up?!) I took some of the others advise because I too like a thicker gravy and added more flour - I will be making this gravy again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
i must have done something wrong, because this gravy wasn't thick at all - it was extremely watery. next time, i will add more flour to thicken it or will stick to using a mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I used chicken broth instead of turkey broth and had to cook longer to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This gravy is very tasty. I used the drippings (about 1 cup) from the roasted turkey and 4 cups of chicken broth instead of 5 cups of turkey stock. Like other reviewers, I also have to add more flour to thicken it. I will sure make it again on every Thanksgiving to go with my turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States