Savory Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I made this as a back up gravy just in case I screwed up the giblet gravy. Giblet gravy was the star of the Thanksgiving feast. This gravy wasn't even touched. :( I have all of it still and plan to "fix" it by putting some pan drippings to serve with leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Fabulous gravy - I used better then boullion chicken for the stock. All my guests raved. Thanks -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I used Chicken Stock to make chicken gravy rather than turkey. The flavour was nice but it just didn't thicken up and I cooked it for well over 10 mins. Will probably try again when I'm in a more patient mood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I halved this recipe and used chicken stock it was good but not thick enough I would use more flour water to thicken it some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Very Good! Of course I am partial to my grandmother's recipe but she wasn't available. This is a great substitute! Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Wickizer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tualatin, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
i did like others i added a little more flour to get the correct consistancy. i also added a "dash" of mrs. dash instead of salt. this gravy came out very good thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS.D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I was looking for a turkey gravy recipe that did not call for pan drippings - I hate that burnt taste - This gravy was an EXCELLENT choice - It was easy and tasty (though a bit too peppery for me - next time I will not add the full 1/2 tsp - I'll start with 1/8 tsp and work my way up?!) I took some of the others advise because I too like a thicker gravy and added more flour - I will be making this gravy again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
i must have done something wrong, because this gravy wasn't thick at all - it was extremely watery. next time, i will add more flour to thicken it or will stick to using a mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I used chicken broth instead of turkey broth and had to cook longer to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This gravy is very tasty. I used the drippings (about 1 cup) from the roasted turkey and 4 cups of chicken broth instead of 5 cups of turkey stock. Like other reviewers, I also have to add more flour to thicken it. I will sure make it again on every Thanksgiving to go with my turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States