Savory Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
It was OK. Needed to add a chicken bouillon cube to get a litter more flavor. I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKJS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This gravy was okay, it had a strong herb taste to it, but it lacked something. I may use it again with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Pretty good gravy. I used 1 1/4 Tbsp cornstarch instead of flour and added some more seasonings to get more flavor(garlic powder, pepper and vegetable seasoning) Also I used beef broth since I couldnt find turkey broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I didn't add any salt due to brining the turkey; wasn't sure how much brining would affect the gravy. Used 2T Wondra flour per cup of liquid; ended up adding some chicken broth to the drippings too since I only made a turkey breast. Turned out ok in spite of forgetting to rinse off all of the brine from the bird! :-( Thanks for the recipe, Veronica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Very good, but had to add extra flour to get it a little thicker. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Jalapa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mount Orab, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
It was a bit too salty for my taste, next time I'll not add the salt. I only used 3 cups of stock and the consistancy was good. I'll definitely make this gravy again, I'm looking forward to trying it with less salt. It was very simple to make, always a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Mine never thickened up. I even added a tablespoon of cornstarch (mixed with water beforehand, of course). The flavor was great. I wish I would've reduced the stock...I think three cups would've been perfect. Oh well, I've learned for next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I have NEVER been able to make gravy. Decided yesterday for Thanksgiving to give it another try.We had backup store bought gravy in case. I used this recipe and for the first time ever I finally made wonderful gravy. This is a keeper. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
MMM. So good. I didn't add the poultry seasoning. It had enough flavor without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I only liked this because of how I modified it. I added only 3 cups of stock and I mixed the flour with only a 1/2 c. water. I also added turkey drippings. It took about 20 min to thicken and I do think if I had added all 5c. of stock it probably never would have thickened. I also added a package of dry turkey gravy mix so I think that helped as well. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States