Savory Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I thought it was fabulous gravy. I upped the flour to the reccomended 2 tbsp per cup of liquid and it thickened up nicely. Also, I had used the herbed turkey recipe from this site which gave a wonderful flavor to the gravy. All I added was the poultry seasoning. I left out the rest since I already had seasoned drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Very good, I did change a few things. For family of four, I used two cups of stock, 2 tbsp of butter and two tbsp flour, no water. I melt the butter then add flour cook until bubbly resembles wet sand, add broth (wisk) and season. I cut the seasoning down due to decreasing liquid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I have never been able to make gravy that tastes like my mothers. NOw I can. This was delicious although I didn't follow the flour water measurements exactly as told. I will be using this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This is an excellent recipe. I used 3 cups of stock with a little bit of turkey drippings and then 1 cup of water with 3-4 tbs cornstartch. Yummy! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I was totally freaked out at making gravy but this came out great. It was gone in minutes and everyone complained that I should have made more. I will be keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This is absolutely delicious!!! Ten stars. I didnt have turkey stock so I used chicken broth. Having it for Christmas dinner. MMMM MMMM good!!Thank you Veronica
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bucyrus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving and I agree the proportions are way off....well that is unless you like very watery gravy...and would equal a three star. My daughter was making this..per recipe, and when I saw it, I was like waaayyy to thin. My Mom piped in with "don't panic...mash some butter with some flour and add it to the gravy...whisk it in there and this way you won't get lumps" Only her! Anyway it made for a tasty gravy with the addition of the extra flour. Next time I will make the rue first and then add the stock and potato water. Thanks Veronica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I used as much turkey drippings as i could and supplemented w/ chicken stock. It is a great gravy, but the proportions are wrong. I used 1 Tablespoon cornstarch, per cup of liquid as suggested by an earlier review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This was the best gravy and I HATE gravy and ate it on thanksgiving and then ate with leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine Rella Frank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Definitely use 6 TBS of Cornstarch (or 12 TBS of flour), or it will not thicken to a gravy consistency. I used 1 TBS poultry seasoning, a dash of sage, a pinch of celery flakes, a tsp of onion powder and a few drops of Kitchen Bouquet (or Gravy Master) for a slightly less “yellow” appearance. It was PERFECT, so easy and best of all, NO LUMPS! Served over Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes or your favorite stuffing…YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States