Savory Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I'm no gravy pro, so was happy when this came out a good consistency with no lumps (followed others' advice about how much flour to add). Couldn't find "Gravy Master" anywhere in the store, but the color was bearable. Only complaint is that it was wayyy too seasoned. But I think that was because my turkey stock was seasoned??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avalon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This turkey gravy recipe is ideal for topping potatoes or turkey, ham - everything. I added one cup of minced turkey giblets and its broth that I stewed the day before and then pureed. It was very very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This was the first successful gravy recipe I have tried. I brined the turkey the night before, so I prepared the stock the night before also using the neck and gizzards. I had 3 cups of turkey stock, 2 cups of pan dripping and one cup of broth. I followed the other ingredients exactly and it was very tasty! The pan drippings also included white wine using "Perfect Turkey" recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Great recipe! Thanks for sharing! We will be using this every Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Other than scaling the recipe down I followed exactly. It was very tasty and easy to make. Will make again for Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This was fantastic! The adjustments made were: the amount of cornstarch as other reviewers suggested, left out the teaspoon of salt and used cooled broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This is a great (and easy!) recipe for turkey gravy. The only change I made was that I always use the water that I've boiled the potatoes in, instead of regular old tap water. I think it just gives the gravy a better taste plus with the potatoes having been in the water, it might even help with the thickening. Whether or not, this is a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
298 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I followed the suggestion of another reviewer who said to feed her family of four used the 2 cups of stock, 2 Tbs of butter and 2 Tbs of flour - no water. First she melted the butter then added flour and cooked until bubbly and resembles wet sand. Then she added the broth, whisked and seasoned according to the recipe. It was so very, very good... the only thing was my family of four went right through it. I will definitely make this again this way, but double it so there is some left over. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This gravy did not lack in flavor but it would not thicken up for me. Maybe next time I will use a little more flour or cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
good stuff. i used the turkey juice instead of premade turkey stock. and i much prefer using cornstarch to flour. i took everyones advice and used more flour/cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States