Savory Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I made this gravy for Thanksgiving. With a few additions it was a good time saving alternative ti gravy from giblets. I added more spices and quite a bit of dry white wine - delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuttylicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
The flavors of the gravy were good. Be careful however, I used turkey stock with salt and then I added the additional salt the recipe called for. Way too much!!! I also had trouble since I felt like my gravy tasted a bit too much like flour...Perhaps it was just me....it was easy tough and good in a pinch...I will keep experimenting however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This gravy was great. I suggest cutting the salt if you're using drippings from a brined turkey. Otherwise, it will be too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I was very disappointed in the flavor of this recipe. It tasted like grass to me and my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Absolutely Favorite! Only change I made to this recipe was I used all stock instead of water. Simple to do and best tasting gravy ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This is the best, easiest, tastiest gravy I have made in a while. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I only used this recipe to see what I should add to my moms recipe to get a bit more punch. I just wasn't sure on added spices - the recipe and reviews helped! THOUGH I can't imagine using SOUP in homemade gravy - and I doubt I will ever try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I made changes per some other reviews. I used 5 cups of stock, 5 tbsp of butter and 5 tbsp flour, no water. Melted the butter then add flour cook until bubbly then added store-bought chicken stock(whisk) and seasoned. I liked the fact that I could make this before the turkey was even out of the oven, and it seemed easy to get it smooth (no lumps)! but in terms of taste, I think the old-fashioned gravy made from the turkey drippings is a bit better. Also, I thought the seasoning here made it a touch too salty. I would make this again but would cut back on that tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This gravy was good. Taste it before adding salt; mine was plenty salty and I added no salt. If you use turkey drippings you probably won't need salt. I made Homestyle Turkey, the Michigan Way and used this gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States